The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

First Lines: There are so many ways it could have all turned out differently.  Imagine if she hadn’t forgotten the book.  She wouldn’t have had to run back into the house while Mom waited outside with the car running, the engine setting loose a cloud of exhaust in the late-day heat.

When I buy books, I usually agonize over the decision, mostly because in this economy, I don’t want to spend nearly $20 on a book I think I’ll only read once and hate.  So I check reviews, ask around to see if friends have read it, and then I’ll buy it if it sounds like something I’ll read more than once.  I own this book.

Hadley just knows that the next twenty-four hours are going to be the worst of her life.  Not only did she just miss her flight to London by four minutes (since when do planes leave on time anyway?), but she missed the flight that was going to take her to her father’s second wedding.  Hadley’s never met the new bride, but she’s sure she’ll just be awful.  In the crowded airport, Hadley meets Oliver, a handsome boy with a British accent also on his way to London…and he’ll be in her row on the plane.  Now that agonizing plane ride seems to last minutes instead of hours.  But after Hadley accidentally loses Oliver in the London airport, will she ever see him again?

The whole story takes place over a twenty-four hour period.  It felt a lot like a rom-com because of that.  They are usually over a very short period of time, unless it happens to be like When Harry Met Sally.  Anyway, normally I don’t like short time spans because the love story seems unbelievable, but I could actually see this story happening in real life.

I suppose I should first of all say that I’ve never ridden in a plane.  Yup.  So some of this stuff they’re talking about in it, like how the people next to you tell you their life stories and such, I’m like, “People do that?”  I have absolutely no frame of reference for how busy airports can get or how gross airplane food is.  That’s all new to me and maybe part of the reason why I was entertained.  I was living vicariously.

Ok, on to this “love at first sight” business.  I found the love story to be cute and charming.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to go considering a lot of love stories talk about how attractive the guy is, how the girl can’t breathe when she sees the guy, how she instantly knows that he is the only one for her.  That didn’t happen.  It was more like what I’ve seen to happen in real life.  The more you get to know someone, the more attractive they become.  Not that Oliver wasn’t cute to begin with.  He totally was.

There are obviously other plot lines besides the love.  Hadley’s on her way to her dad’s second wedding, a wedding she doesn’t want to be going to in the first place.  There are some issues she needs to work out with him and there’s Oliver’s backstory that comes to light.  No spoilers from me on that.  Uh uh.  Not sharing.

From what I’ve seen, most people that thought the book was just ok seem to have an issue with one of two things.  First of all, they seem to think that the book is just fluff.  Well, yes, but you knew that going into it.  That wasn’t a surprise and really, did you expect a whole lot more than that?  I didn’t.  Secondly, they seem to have an issue with Hadley’s dad/Hadley’s issues with her dad.  I don’t even know how to reply to that one because even those reviewers couldn’t put their fingers on what they didn’t like about it.  I thought it was just fine.

Overall, it’s a cute and fast read.  And since it takes place over the 4th of July weekend, it’s a cute summer read.

Leave a Reply

