Shattered Souls (Souls, #1)

First Lines: The voice of a small child called out from somewhere behind me.  “Please.  I need your help.”

As organized as I am when it comes to my books, you’d have thought this would have been one for me to read right after it came out.  I even had it in the top 20 of my to-read list for months and just never picked it up.  Finally, I realized I wasn’t actually getting the books in my top 20 and went to change that.

Lenzi is fairly certain she’s going crazy.  Hearing voices isn’t normal for anyone, but it’s even worse when your father was a diagnosed schizophrenic.  Lenzi fears she’ll end up just like her dad if she can’t get them to stop.  Her boyfriend Zak is worried about her, but he doesn’t know how to help.  Then Lenzi meets Alden, a boy that’s been popping up in her dreams lately.  Alden tells Lenzi that she’s a reincarnated Speaker (well, glorified ghost whisperer, really) and that he’s been her Protector for centuries.  Lenzi has a choice: try to maintain some semblance of a normal life, a life she has with Zak, or follow her destiny with Alden.  Lenzi has to choose quickly because there’s a Malevolent spirit biding his time until he can kill her…

I was pretty well blown away by the story.  I got a later start in my daily reading that I usually do, so I was pretty sure it wasn’t going to be a one-day read.  It was.  I couldn’t put the thing down!  By page 30, I knew I was hooked.  It was almost pointless for me to be like, “Ok, after this next chapter, I’ll stop.”  It was more like five chapters later when I could finally put it down.  By midnight, I knew I was staying up to finish it.

The storyline is quite intriguing and compelling.  Lenzi’s in the dark about a lot of things, so it was interesting to learn everything about this world along with her.  It’s such a captivating world, too!  The Speakers and Protectors, the Hindered (the ghosts), and so much else.  I very much believed this was a real world as I was reading.  So very compelling.

The characters were great as well.  Lenzi’s a strong female heroine with a fierce resolve and a little pigheadedness.  She’s smart and careful, yet impulsive and daring.  Alden is also an interesting character.  He’s a bit like a tootsie-pop: harder on the outside and softer on the inside.  And boy, does he have a soft spot for Lenzi!  I just loved reading anything that had to do with either of them.

Apparently, this was only supposed to be a stand-alone novel.  Now it has a sequel/companion novel set for release in 2014.  I’m a little disappointed I have to wait that long to see what happens next with whoever the story is set to focus on, but I’m definitely going to keep my eyes on this author.  She’s one to watch.  Very wonderful writing style.

Leave a Reply

