Fateful

First Lines: It’s not too late to turn back, I tell myself.  As a group of sailors leer at me, I cross my arms in front and wish my coat weren’t so shabby.

If you don’t know anything about this already, I’ll tell you that it’s a paranormal take on Titanic.  Yes, you read that sentence right.  And since I’m a big fan of both (well, “enthusiast” would probably be a better word than “fan”), I had to give this a try.

Tess Davies is a ladies maid to a rich family, a family that happens to be taking the Titanic to America.  Tess dreams of nothing else but making a new life for herself their, away from the family.  The ship is more magnificent than Tess could have hoped, but it brings with it dark secrets.  Onboard, Tess meets Alec, a man whose secrets are dangerous enough to get Tess killed before she knows what hit her.  But the more Tess falls for Alec, the more enmeshed she becomes in these secrets.  Is there any hope for her to survive this ill-fated voyage?

I’m really not spoiling anything by saying that the “paranormal” I referred to is werewolves.  Werewolves on the Titanic.  I never thought I’d see the day.

Ok, so being a Titanic enthusiast, I really wasn’t sure how I would take to this being added to such a tragic and captivating tale.  I’m still not exactly sure how I feel about it all.  Something about it just still doesn’t sit right with me.  I didn’t exactly appreciate the changes, I guess.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a good story.  Tess is a strong girl determined to make her own way.  Alec is handsome and mysterious with a kind heart.  But perhaps the minor characters were the most colorful.  Characters like the kind-hearted Mr. Marlowe and the fierce Myriam were great additions to the story.

I just felt from time to time that the plot line about werewolves was a little rough.  There were times when I was disappointed by the lack of details about a scene or the mythology involved.  Even the Titanic itself didn’t feel like more than just a piece of scenery for most of the story.  It felt like a tree scenery piece in a high school play: it’s there, it’s pretty to look at, and for the most part characters don’t interact with it.  That is one awesome metaphor, if I do say so myself.

It’s an interesting read, but I wasn’t overly impressed with it by any means.  And I’ll probably stick with more traditional Titanic tales after this.

Leave a Reply

