Spotlight Friday (47)

Hello, hello!  Did you miss this?  Sorry about missing last week’s edition, but I was on vacation (as you already know if I totally blew up your notifications with new posts) and did not have access to the internet.  *Gasp* The horror!  No internet!  No updates from Belle!   But I’m back now and there’s nothing to fear…why does that suddenly remind me of Batman…?

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1) by Susan Dennard

Release Date: July 24, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)The year is 1876, and there’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

What’s To Like: I forgot until I reread this summary how much I was jonesing to read this.  I mean, holy chicken nuggets, what doesn’t this story have?  Amazing dress on the cover that makes me totally jealous that I don’t have it?  Check.  Historical?  Check.  Rich family and tensions that emerge from a potential forced marriage?  Check.  Zombies?  Heck yes!  I have a feeling this is going to either be seriously epic or a total crash and burn.  I’m hoping this goes more in the way of “epic”, though.

My review of Something Strange and Deadly.

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

Release Date: July 31, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)“I won’t tell anyone, Echo. I promise.” Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. “You didn’t do that-did you? It was done to you?” No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.   

“An edgy romance that pulls you in and never lets go. I was hooked!”-Gena Showalter,  New York Times bestselling author of the Intertwined series  

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.  Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

What’s To Like: There’s so many books out there like this and yet I always look at them like they’re completely new stories.  First of all, I’m interested in what kind of parents name their daughter Echo.  Secondly, before this summary was out, it was billed as a story about two kinds on probation finding love that couldn’t be…or something like that.  I think.  It’s been a while.  Still, it’s interesting and reminds me of Perfect Chemistry.

My review of Pushing the Limits.

The Waiting Sky by Lara Zielin

Release Date: August 7, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads): One summer chasing tornadoes could finally change Jane’s life for the better

Seventeen-year-old Jane McAllister can’t quite admit her mother’s alcoholism is spiraling dangerously out of control until she drives drunk, nearly killing them and Jane’s best friend.

Jane has only one place to turn: her older brother Ethan, who left the problems at home years ago for college. A summer with him and his tornado-chasing buddies may just provide the time and space Jane needs to figure out her life and whether it still includes her mother. But she struggles with her anger at Ethan for leaving home and feels guilty–is she also abandoning her mom just when she needs Jane most? The carefree trip turned journey of self-discovery quickly becomes more than Jane bargained for, especially when the devilishly handsome Max steps into the picture.

What’s To Like: I love this idea of storm chasing in a story.  I don’t think I’ve ever read one of those before.  I’m excited to see how that goes.  Also, this sounds like a story with a lot of wisdom in it.  I’m a fan of self-discovery and soul-searching stories simply because I can usually find something to use out of them, something that may make me a better person.  And I want to see how “devilishly handsome” this Max is…

My review of The Waiting Sky

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday (47)

Leave a Reply

