Vampire Academy: The Graphic Novel (Vampire Academy: The Graphic Novel, #1)

First Lines: I feel her before I hear the screams.  Her nightmare pulses into me.  Images–hers, not mine.

Honestly, I still don’t know what to make of this recent trend of turning awesome YA books into graphic novels.  I mean yeah, it’s totally cool to see your favorite series turned into pictures but those pictures usually don’t match up with what you’ve imagined.

Rose and Lissa have been on the run from St. Vladimir Academy for a while now, until they’re caught and brought back by a guardian named Dimitri Belikov.  Lissa, vampire royalty, quickly sinks into a routine and attempts to fit back in with her old friends.  Rose, behind in her lessons, is forced to take not only her current lessons but extra training with Dimitri.  Rose knows the danger is still present, the reason they ran in the first place.  But who is the danger?  And can Rose stop it in time?

I like that some scenes were represented in here in new ways.  It was pretty awesome to see our resident “death in a cowboy duster” brought to life.  I’m such a fan of this story anyway.  I just had to see how it was in pictures.

What’s great about graphic novels is that you can read the whole thing in less than an hour.  I love that.  But that means the story has been condensed from its 300+ pages in origin to less than 150 pages.  Which is much smaller than you think ,considering there are so many pictures that need to be added and much less dialogue.

It could just be me, but the characters in graphic novels always seem to look vaguely Japanese.  Which sort of ruins the effect of things when you know that Dimitri, for example, is actually Russian.  Like I said, that could just be me though.  Or the drawing style that is used for these books.

The story was really jumpy.  I kept looking for pages that had fallen out, the transitions were so abrupt.  It might have been nice if there had been even just 10 or 20 more pages to plump up the story in some places.  I really hope people don’t just read the graphic novel and then decide not to read the actual book.

It’s great if you’re looking to just enjoy yourself for an hour.  Don’t take it too seriously.  Just look at the representations of the characters and all that, but please, read the actual book first.

One thought on “Vampire Academy: The Graphic Novel (Vampire Academy: The Graphic Novel, #1)

  1. It is an interesting trend, isn’t it? I find I usually enjoy comics that were created as comics best. Like “Gunnerkrigg Court” By Tom Siddell – it was originally intended to be a comic series and it’s awesome! (But I’m totally excited to read the novel of “Vampire Academy!”)

Leave a Reply

