Hallowed (Unearthly, #2)

First Lines: In the dream, there’s sorrow.  I feel it over everything else, a terrible grief that chokes me, blurs my sight, weighs down my feet as I move through the tall grass.  I walk among pin trees up a gentle slope.

This has been sitting on my bookshelf since I bought it back in, oh…March?  I have a bad tendency of buying books and letting them sit unread for a long time.  But I got my butt in gear for this one, mostly because it became my only option for something different.  If you read my last post on how I pick my next book, you know all about this.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Clara thought she was ready for the fire and what it would bring.  She couldn’t have been more wrong.  She made her decision; now she has to live with the consequences.  There’s Tucker, her first love, who still stands by her side.  And there’s Christian, her friend who feels like so much more than that because of their shared destinies.  Clara’s begun having a new vision, a dream, where she learns someone she loves is going to die in the coming months.  Who is it?  Does Clara have the ability to thwart her visions and save the person?

I had a hard time remembering what happened in the last book.  I remembered how it ended, hallelujah, but I forgot the finer points of the story.  So I went back and reread the last 50 pages or so of Unearthly before I started this.

I really enjoyed being reacquainted with Clara, Tucker, and Christian.  I remembered Clara and Tucker being funny, but I didn’t remember Christian as well.  It was really nice to get to know him better.  All three of them have their individual strengths and special quirks.  I could easily admire all of them and wish they were my friends.

I think the lore about angel-bloods is pretty awesome.  I love how it works, how the rules work, and all the little secrets that Clara is just starting to learn.  There were so many secrets in this one that had to be revealed.  I think I spent half the time with my jaw on the ground.  And I pride myself on being able to spot plot twists coming.  I liked that this kept me on my toes.

There were some times Clara would go on a self-aware rant that seemed a little out of place.  I mean, I understand it, but it didn’t feel right.  For example, Clara is perfectly aware that she’s in the middle of a love triangle and then proceeds to rant about how stupid she thought love triangles were before this.  I get it…but it almost made the book feel self-aware that it was a book.  This happened a couple of times and removed me from the moment.

Exciting plot.  Engaging characters.  Heartbreaking ending.

I never expected it when I started this book, given that I’m a country girl at heart, but I think I just swapped from Team Tucker to Team Christian with this book.  Wonder what will happen in the next book.

Leave a Reply

