Moonlight Mayhem (Spellbound, #2)

First Lines: My body relaxed for the first time in weeks without the fear of demon blood infecting me with Darkness.  Or a portal to the Underworld opening up under my feet.  Or ghosts inhabiting my body.  No, I was just a normal teen like the others here tonight.

I was given an ebook copy of this from the author to read and review.  I also received a copy of the first book in this series from her a little more than a month ago (review here), so I’m on a roll now!

Shiloh Ravenwolf is not your average teen, though she wishes that she was.  How much easier would her life be if she didn’t have to be the destined protector of Whispering Pines?  That’s a lot of responsibility for a 16-year-old.  Now something is loose in town…something dangerous.  Whatever it is, it’s biting teenage boys and killing anyone else who happens to be in its way.  Then Shiloh’s father is murdered.  Suddenly, Shiloh has a purpose: find her dad’s killer and kill him/her before more people are killed.  But with the unpredictable demon blood in her body, Shiloh just might be the bigger threat to Whispering Pines if she can’t get it under control in time…

Again, we see that Shiloh is quite the capable heroine.  She is a bit more fierce in this one than I remember her being in the last one, mostly because this time she’s jonesing for revenge.  She had a very strong drive to train and find her dad’s killer.  I still don’t understand why she wears belly shirts (especially when most of her excursions in the one put her in the woods.  Can you imagine having poison ivy on your stomach?), but whatever.  I suppose I’m not the fashion police or Shiloh’s mother.

It was really nice to see the characters we knew from the last book become expanded on.  Trent really has a moment in which he knows he has to grow up or get left behind.  (Again, really enjoyed seeing him in here.)  He’s got a whole huge subplot that should be quite cool to see played out in the future.  And I’m also suspecting that Ariana is going to have her own subplot soon.

What was also cool was seeing new characters emerge.  Ashley and Kayla, two of the Trendies at Shiloh’s school play a large role and football player Daniel Ramirez added a little more testosterone to the story.  And there is another character that looks to be quite important in the next book.  I’m really looking forward to finding out what his deal is, since we know little more than his name (it’s Raze, if you were wondering).

So this book ended up being this hodge-podge of supernatural creatures.  Werewolves, zombies, necromancers, and more can be found in this book.  I kind of like that each book as a different focus, don’t get me wrong, but there was almost too much in this one.  Between Shiloh’s witch powers and the demon blood in her, you throw in these three+ supernatural creatures and every page felt like it dealt with a different creature.  It just felt a little excessive.  But I liked how it all turned out.

Also with this book, I came to the realization that Shiloh’s not as clever a heroine as most that I read about.  Very early on, I had it pegged who was responsible for all the chaos in town and Shiloh, having seen the exact same clues I did, didn’t piece it together until near the end.  She even realized there were things that weren’t right, but she like, overlooked it or something.  I don’t know.  She’s smart.  She knew something wasn’t right with these people, but she just didn’t put the pieces together.

All in all, a good sequel to the series.

2 thoughts on “Moonlight Mayhem (Spellbound, #2)

  1. Thank you for taking the time to read and write this well-written and honest review of my novel. I hope your followers appreciated the post and are interested in reading my new YA series. 😀

    Happy reading,
    ~Sherry

  2. What a lovely, honest review of Sherry’s work! Thank you for sharing. (I feel the need to mention that Shiloh wore a hoodie or leather jacket over all of her clothes, so no worries about her getting poison ivy. LOL) Wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

