The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)

First Lines: My name is not Mara Dyer, but my lawyer told me I had to choose something.  A pseudonym.  A nom de plume, for all of us studying for the SATs.  I know that having a fake name is strange, but trust me–it’s the most normal thing about my life right now.

If you remember my post a week or slightly more ago, I referred to this book as the unknown.  The book jacket is so completely vague that I had no idea what it was going to involve.  Was it going to be supernatural or more realistic fiction?  The only way to find out (without ruining the story) was to read it.

Mara doesn’t think things can get worse than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.  Somehow, in that time she can’t remember, she was involved in an accident that killed her friends yet left her mostly unharmed.  How could this have happened?  Why can’t she remember any of it?  And, after everything that’s happened to her, can she possibly fall in love with someone?

Yes, I did just keep in the spirit of the book jacket and tell you practically nothing.  🙂  I can’t ruin all the fun, now, can I?

Alright.  So when I started, I had a little trouble sinking into Mara’s world.  It begins just after her accident when she’s three shades of confused, upset, and frustrated.  It’s hard to jump right into a book when all these negative emotions are being flung your way.  But by page 50, Mara has settled down and it’s much easier to get a feel for her and her family.

Mara is a brutally candid character and I admit, I ate that up.  She curses like a sailor when she’s angry and she invents quite colorful descriptions for people she doesn’t like.  I found that honesty refreshing.  I just think it’s so silly when authors create fake curse words for their characters because there are so few teens who will take the effort to do that.  I know that language offends some people, so this doubles as a warning to you if you are one of those people.

There is a boy in this story named Noah who I came to like.  He, like Mara, has some issues.  I just really liked that he had a sexy English accent.  And the way he and Mara act together…let’s just say that I stayed up 1:30 to finish reading this last night.

This is probably classified as something similar to “psychological suspense” or something.  A lot of the story is Mara trying to figure out what’s real, since she can’t really trust her memory anymore and her nightmares almost feel more real than her waking life.  So a lot of it took place in her head.  But there’s also a lot of suspense flying around as Noah and Mara unravel some of her mysteries.

Very enthralling.  I was pretty well glued to it all yesterday.  Reading 450 pages in a day is a lot, even for me.

One thought on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)

  1. Confession – I kind of just skimmed your review. I THINK this is one of the books where it’s better to know very little about the book so I’m trying to avoid any detais haha. But I am super anxious to read this and I’m so glad you thought so highly of it!!!

Leave a Reply

