Spotlight Friday (51)

It’s Friday time!  And since it’s one of the last Fridays before school starts, I am off to the lake for the day where I can soak up some sun and read in the shade so my skin does not burn.  Ah, such is the life of a bookworm.  Anyway, you enjoy this and I’ll enjoy that!

Silver (Bandia, #1) by Talia Vance

Release Date: September 8, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads): An Irish heritage, Celtic myth, and deadly beauty

In eighth grade, Brianna did something so dreadful she was suspended and homeschooled. No one could explain what happened that night . . . except Brianna’s Irish grandmother, who gave her a silver charm bracelet and told her to wear it until she turned seventeen. Ever since she slipped it on, Brianna has felt like she’s invisible. People stare right past her as if she doesn’t exist. And that includes Blake Williams, the one boy she can’t resist.

But everything changes in one frozen, silver moment when Blake sees her–and recognizes what she’s been hiding. Brianna is descended from Danu, the legendary Bandia of Celtic myth. Yet before she can fully understand who or what she is, Brianna accidentally binds her soul to Blake–whose tribe has spent the last thousand years hunting Danu’s descendants to protect humanity.

What’s To Like: Hello, what’s missing?  I haven’t read much of Celtic or Irish mythologies and legends, so this is kind of my replacement for that.  I’m sure I’ll do research after I read it.  But there’s also this hunky Blake who gets bound to Brianna’s soul.  Fun stuff, right?  Gives me a Romeo & Juliet feel, since he’s been trying to kill her kind for thousands of years.  Wonder if it makes him like her or if it means he dies when she does…

Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: September 18, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Dying sucks–and high school senior Ember McWilliams knows firsthand. After a fatal car accident, her gifted little sister brought her back. Now anything Ember touches dies. And that, well, really blows.

Ember operates on a no-touch policy with all living things–including boys. When Hayden Cromwell shows up, quoting Oscar Wilde and claiming her curse is a gift, she thinks he’s a crazed cutie. But when he tells her he can help control it, she’s more than interested. There’s just one catch: Ember has to trust Hayden’s adopted father, a man she’s sure has sinister reasons for collecting children whose abilities even weird her out. However, she’s willing to do anything to hold her sister’s hand again. And hell, she’d also like to be able to kiss Hayden. Who wouldn’t?

But when Ember learns the accident that turned her into a freak may not’ve been an accident at all, she’s not sure who to trust. Someone wanted her dead, and the closer she gets to the truth, the closer she is to losing not only her heart, but her life. For real this time.

What’s To Like: I’ve been hooked on this book’s premise for over a year now, waiting for it to come out.  I love that Hayden quotes Oscar Wilde, who has some seriously fantastic quotes out there.  But really, I’m drawn in by Ember’s powers.  I can’t even imagine how hard life would be if I couldn’t touch anything alive.  I’d probably go crazy not being able to pet my dogs.  And I’m getting serious creeper-vibes from Hayden’s father already.  This is going to be good.

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bones, #2) by Laini Taylor

Release Date: November 6, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed “Daughter of Smoke and Bone,” Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.

What’s To Like: Ok, so I know this summary flippin’ sucks.  I can’t find a better one on Goodreads that says more about the book.  And this release date is a little ways away still, but aren’t you excited?  I actually like this cover better than the first one.  And I never expected to like this series.  I thought, once I got started in it anyway, that it was way too fantastical for me.  But here I am, waiting to see what will happen to Karou next.  Gah.  November, you are too far away!

One thought on “Spotlight Friday (51)

Leave a Reply

