Spotlight Friday (52)

It’s Friday again!  And for some people, this may be their last Friday of summer vacation before they get back in the swing of things at school.  It’s not my last free Friday (yay!), so I’m not sweating it yet.  Either way, school is coming and these books may be something you want to read in the coming months.  Any of them strike your fancy?

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Release Date: September 18, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their reasons for being there (which involve T.J., the school’s most eligible bachelor) and look forward to three glorious days of boys, booze and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get, and what starts out as fun turns dark and twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine.

Suddenly people are dying, and with a storm raging, the teens are cut off from the outside world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn’t scheduled to return for two days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on each other, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

What’s To Like: Ok, so in the realm of horror movies, this is kind of typical.  But I don’t watch horror movies.  So…that was kind of a pointless point for me to make.  Moving on.  This sounds to me a lot like Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None (formerly titled Ten Little Indians), which is one of my favorite books from her.  Bet you didn’t have me pegged as a Christie fan, did you?    Yup.  I grew up on mysteries like this.  So I’m definitely looking forward to returning to my literature roots.

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1) by Gena Showalter

Release Date: September 25, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish

What’s To Like: I love the allusion to Alice in Wonderland and the gorgeous cover.  There are so many little details in it, I could stare at it for hours and not see them all.  Ok, what I’m really interested in here is this Cole.  (And the undead, I’m not going to lie.)  But Cole…I have to wonder, since this is related to AiW, if he’s one of the characters from the book.  The series is called the White Rabbit Chronicles…but I kinda want him to be like, the Mad Hatter.

My review of Alice in Zombieland.

Dearly, Beloved (Gone With The Respiration, #2) by Lia Habel

Release Date: September 25, 2012

*Caution: Potential Spoilers Ahead from Book 1*

Summary (from Goodreads)Can the living coexist with the living dead? 

That’s the question that has New Victorian society fiercely divided ever since the mysterious plague known as “The Laz” hit the city of New London and turned thousands into walking corpses. But while some of these zombies are mindless monsters, hungry for human flesh, others can still think, speak, reason, and control their ravenous new appetites.

Just ask Nora Dearly, the young lady of means who was nearly kidnapped by a band of sinister zombies but valiantly rescued by a dashing young man . . . of the dead variety.

Nora and her savior, the young zombie soldier Bram Griswold, fell hopelessly in love. But others feel only fear and loathing for the reanimated dead. Now, as tensions grow between pro- and anti-zombie factions, battle lines are being drawn in the streets. And though Bram is no longer in the New Victorian army, he and his ex-commando zombie comrades are determined to help keep the peace. That means taking a dangerous stand between The Changed, a radical group of sentient zombies fighting for survival, and The Murder, a masked squad of urban guerrillas hellbent on destroying the living dead. But zombies aren’t the only ones in danger: Their living allies are also in The Murder’s crosshairs, and for one vengeful zealot, Nora Dearly is the number one target.

As paranoia, prejudice, and terrorist attacks threaten to plunge the city into full-scale war, Nora’s scientist father and his team continue their desperate race to unlock the secrets of “The Laz” and find a cure. But their efforts may be doomed when a mysterious zombie appears bearing an entirely new strain of the virus—and the nation of New Victoria braces for a new wave of the apocalypse.

What’s To Like: I’m a massive fan of this series, just based on the first book and the first chapter that I’ve read from this one.  It’s enthralling and grabbing.  I love it, love it, love it.  There’s the mix of zombies, apocalyptic conditions, and Victorian morals and virtues.  It’s the perfect mash-up.  And blogger don’t mean to brag, but she got her hands on an ARC ebook… So that review will be coming as soon as I can get to it!  (Definitely before this release date.)

My review of Dearly, Beloved.

Leave a Reply

