The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)

First Lines: Ten years ago, on my sixth birthday, my father disappeared.  No, he didn’t leave.  Leaving would imply suitcases and empty drawers, and late birthday cards with ten-dollar bills stuffed inside.  Leaving would imply he was unhappy with Mom and me, or taht he found a new love elsewhere.  None of that was true.

I am so late to this party.  This has been on my to-read list since 2009 and well…the library never had it in?  Terrible excuse.  I probably put it off because most faerie stories are very similar and at the time, I was reading Wicked Lovely and Wondrous Strange.  And now that faeries are on the outs of popularity, I finally pick it up.

Figures.

Meghan Chase thought she was just a normal girl.  A shy girl from the swamps of Louisiana who never really fit in, sure, but normal all the same.  But when Meghan spots a gorgeous stranger and her prankster best friend becomes highly protective of her, she knows something’s not right.  The stranger, it turns out, is a sworn enemy of her father’s.  Oh, and her father happens to be a mythical faerie king.  Meghan’s world is turned upside down to say the least.  She must embark on a journey to save someone she loves from an enemy no ones dares to cross with a few friends and an ice prince who will do anything to keep her at an arm’s length from his heart.

I had to stop this a couple of times at night because I knew I’d never get to bed if I didn’t.  Even that was a struggle as I went, “But I have the time!  Ugh, but if I keep going, I’ll finish it and I really can’t afford to stay up until 2:00 reading.”

The thing about faerie stories is that most of them cover the same ground.  Most that I’ve read have used Oberon, Mab, and Puck as main characters.  This is no different.  It just gets old after you have to hear for the 6th time about the Seelie and Unseelie courts.  There are small differences between the two, more depending on the particular story, but still quite similar.  I get bored.

Thankfully, most of these books offer their own unique spin on it as well.  This was no different.  Well, it was different in its particular spin, one that I bought into readily.  I was excited by its twists and turns.  I wanted to know more about the world Meghan was experiencing.  But mostly, I wanted to know more about Ash.

I don’t even know why I like Ash.  He comes across as quite cold (both figuratively and literally).  It’s kind of that bad-boy thing, but not.  I don’t know what it is.  It’s totally working for him.  I’m a goner.

I’m kicking myself now because I didn’t pick up the sequel at the library when I was there.  However, I do have the novella, Winter’s Passage, which is extremely good and insightful.  After reading that, I’m really interested to see where the next book picks up.

Leave a Reply

