Pandemonium (Delirium, #2)

First Lines: Alex and I are lying together on a blanket in the backyard of 37 Brooks.  The trees look larger and darker than usual.  The leaves are almost black, knitted so tightly together they blot out the sky.

I need to take this moment to pause and remember exactly what happened in this one.  (Hey, give me a break!  It’s been a crazy weekend thus far.)  Ok, I think I’m all set.

For a while now, Lena’s known she was going to take the dangerous route.  Lena has come to find out that love is not the disease she’s been taught it was.  But the heartache that comes with it, and the danger from the government, are very real.  Lena’s been forced to leave behind the one person she didn’t want to in order to make her way in the Wilds.  The Wilds aren’t what Lena expected…nor is love.  Can amor deliria nervosa strike twice?

First off, I was never the biggest fan of Delirium.  I can’t even tell you why I wasn’t head over heels for it.  I don’t know.  So I was reluctant to take this one on, especially right after another dystopia.

I thought it was pretty good, but far from perfect.  I definitely liked seeing the world through the eyes of the survivors in the Wilds.  They have a more unique perspective on it, one that’s good after the clinical feel of the first book.  I enjoyed seeing humans being humans again.

I seriously loved the character with which Lena may have found new love.  He’s fantastic.  I really enjoyed the story when he was in that chapter.  Plus, there was usually a lot of action close by.

The chapters aren’t told in chronological order, which completely threw me off in the beginning.  It flips between “Then” and “Now”, which is a difference of about six months.  I much preferred the story line of the “Now” rather than “Then”.  But that’s me.

What I didn’t like so much was that I knew how it was going to end before I’d started it.  That was disappointing.  I don’t mean that I saw a spoiler and it was ruined.  I mean I was able to predict what would happen, given what I knew from the book jacket of this one and the ending of the last.  I hoped I’d be wrong, especially after I got a little more than halfway through this one, but I wasn’t.  Boo.  I almost hate it when I ‘m right about things like this.

It’s still a pretty good read.  Lena’s tough, but fragile still.  The boy is a puzzle.  The action is definitely there, as well as the danger that takes many forms.  You’ll get hooked.

Leave a Reply

