Spotlight Friday (57)

Hey guys!  I really have not been on in the last week, have I?  Busy busy college bee.  I promise, though, I will have 2 new book reviews up before the next Spotlight.  I just finished one book this morning, so that review should be coming out in the next couple of days.  Just bear with me here.  (It’s this way at the beginning of every year.)  On to the new books!

Venom (Secrets of the Eternal Rose, #1) by Fiona Paul

Release Date: October 30, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Cassandra Caravello is one of Renaissance Venice’s lucky elite: with elegant gowns, sparkling jewels, her own lady’s maid, and a wealthy fiancé, she has everything a girl could desire. Yet ever since her parents’ death, Cassandra has felt trapped, alone in a city of water, where the dark and labyrinthine canals whisper of escape.

When Cass stumbles upon a murdered woman—practically in her own backyard—she’s drawn into a dangerous world of courtesans, killers, and secret societies. Soon, she finds herself falling for Falco, a mysterious artist with a mischievous grin… and a spectacular skill for trouble. Can Cassandra find the murderer, before he finds her? And will she stay true to her fiancé, or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for Falco?

Beauty, love, romance, and mystery weave together in a stunning novel that’s as seductive and surprising as the city of Venice itself.

What’s To Like: It’s been a really long time since I’ve found a historical fiction I’ve been really looking forward to reading.  This looks amazing.  I love the location as well.  Venice?  So much about it that could be incorporated into the story.  I’m interested to see if this is going to have a supernatural twist to it or not.  I get the feeling that it does, but I can’t be certain until I have my hands on it.

My review of Venom.

Sirens (Faithful, #3) by Janet Fox

Release Date: November 8, 2012

*Note: This is a companion to two other novels, not necessarily the 3rd in a series.  I don’t think there are any spoilers, should you choose to read on.

Summary (from Goodreads)When Jo Winter’s parents send her off to live with her rich cousin on the glittering island of Manhattan, it’s to find a husband and forget about her brother Teddy’s death. But all that glitters is not gold,. Caught up in the swirl of her cousin’s bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that the talk of marriage never stops, and behind the seemingly boundless gains are illicit business endeavors, gangsters, and their molls. Jo would much rather spend time the handsome but quiet Charles, a waiter at the Algonquin Hotel, than drape herself over a bootlegger. But when she befriends a moll to one of the most powerful men in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets—secrets that threaten an empire and could secure Jo’s freedom from her family. Can her newfound power buy her love? Or will it to ruin Jo, and everyone around her?

What’s To Like: I like Janet Fox’s way of turning parts of history into something awesome.  Usually she covers less well known things, like the San Francisco earthquake of 1906, I think is the year.  Stuff like that.  This is the ’20s, so I’m wondering what kind of twist she has to offer.  I admit, I haven’t seen many with gangsters in them.  That should be interesting.  I’m really interested to see what’s in store.

The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart (Magic Most Foul, #2) by Leanna Renee Hieber

Release Date: November 1, 2012

*So you know how I said in the last one that there were no spoilers?  Yeah, not the same for this one.  Read on if you dare.*

Summary (from Goodreads)For Natalie Stewart, a normal life has never seemed so far away. Her only solace, Lord Jonathan Denbury, is wanted for murder. To clear his name, Denbury must return to England and assume the role of his demon doppelganger. But Natalie begins to doubt his true motives, especially as a new gentleman begins whispering in her ear. Natalie and Denbury may be able to visit each other in their dreams, but they can’t escape the darkening shadows. Amid spontaneous explosions, friends turned enemies and dangerous secrets revealed, there’s still a demon who has Natalie’s scent, and someone is trying to resurrect the ultimate evil.

What’s To Like: I really liked the first book in this series, Darker Still.  It was definitely odd, but I like odd.  I can work with that.  I loved watching Natalie grow more than anything else about the book.  And now I want to see what she does this time.  Plus, the title has my attention.  “The twisted tragedy?”  I mean, what’s going to happen to her now?  Can’t the girl ever catch a break?

One thought on “Spotlight Friday (57)

Leave a Reply

