Temptation

First Lines: Holy crap.  I watched the churning water rush over the driveway and back into the swollen creek bed.  I’d never seen anything like it before, and from the look of incredulity on Dad’s face, neither had he.

A big thanks to the author, Karen Hopkins, for getting me a copy of her book to read and review!

So as you may have been able to tell, I didn’t stumble upon this book on my own.  I had a little help from the author.  She contacted me and asked if I would like to read it for her.  After a minor hesitation, I agreed.

Life is anything but normal for Rose after she moves away from Cincinnati.  She’s been uprooted and forced to live in a small town next to an Amish community.  Noah has been Amish his whole life.  He likes the community, and the way life is.  Then Rose and Noah meet.  Suddenly, everything is different.  Rose finds herself drawn to Noah and his odd ways.  Noah is captivated by Rose’s spirit and wild nature.  The two can’t be together, but can they manage to stay apart?

Because of classes and hanging out with friends, it took me two weeks to finish this.  It never takes me this long to read a book.  I couldn’t believe it took this long, but it totally did.

So over the span of two weeks, I admit that I probably forgot some of what happened.  I didn’t get as engrossed in the story as I would have liked to.  It happens.  And that made it take even longer to finish because I couldn’t motivate myself to read it.

It’s not that it’s a bad story.  I really like the concept and the attention devoted to the Amish community.  I had some background in this area because I live in an area where it’s really not all that uncommon to run into an Amish buggy on the road.  That’s what drew me to this in the first place.

But there were some issues I had with the story.  It has the feeling of insta-love.  Or as I like to say, “Hey I just met you and this is crazy, but I think I love you.  Marry me, maybe?”  …Yeah.  The relationship felt really rushed and I don’t feel like I’m really exaggerating by comparing this to Call Me Maybe.

I also had problems with Noah and Rose.  I get it: you love each other.  Did you really have to change each other for the worse, though?  What I loved about each of them in the beginning was gone by the end.  Noah feels he has to “tame” Rose, which is really the last thing he should be trying to do since that’s what drew him to her in the first place.  I just…I don’t like relationships like that.  I don’t think people should try to change each other.  And I didn’t like how jealous and possessive Noah could be in some places.

It’s not like I disliked the story.  I just thought it had some problems.  If you’re looking for an introduction to Amish life or a love story where only one of the two is Amish (apparently, these are more popular than I ever knew), then definitely look into this.  It simply wasn’t quite right for me.

Leave a Reply

