Spotlight Friday (58)

So you know how in Tangled, the opening song sung by Rapunzel asks “When will my life begin?”  Apparently, my life decided to really take off this month.  I have been a truly awful blogger these past few weeks.  I have 2 new book reviews and a movie review to do.  AND I missed last week’s Spotlight because I was so busy.  I’d like to say that I’ll do better soon, but I can’t promise anything.  I’ll do what I can!

Bitter Blood (Morganville Vampires, #13) by Rachel Caine

Release Date: November 6, 2012

*By book 13 in a series, you can’t possibly do this without some spoilers.*

Summary (from Goodreads)Thanks to the eradication of the parasitic creatures known as the draug, the vampires of Morganville have been freed of their usual constraints. With the vampires indulging their every whim, the town’s human population is determined to hold on to their lives by taking up arms. But college student Claire Danvers isn’t about to take sides, considering she has ties to both the humans and the vampires. 

To make matters worse, a television show comes to Morganville looking for ghosts, just as vampire and human politics collide. Now, Claire and her friends have to figure out how to keep the peace without ending up on the nightly news… or worse.

What’s To Like: I just love this series, even if it’s gotten formulaic and predictable at times.  It’s the same reason why I watch TV shows I know are going to make me laugh or why I used to watch CSI, which really is pretty much the same every week.  It’s good, I like it, and I want to keep up with it.  I’m really interested to see how these ghost hunters fit into the story.

My review of Bitter Blood.

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Release Date: November 13, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question. 

It’s one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she’s queen of following rules and being prepared. That’s why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that’s also why she’s chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB (“meant to be”).

But this spring break, Julia’s rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she’s partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love.

Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

What’s To Like: I really like this because I can see so much of myself in Julia.  I think there are a lot of readers out there like me who have all these rules for love and think everything is so formulaic (is that my buzz word for the day or what?).  Anyway, I’m really excited to see London through Julia’s eyes and see what this Jason is all about.

My review of Meant To Be.

Miss Fortune Cookie by Lauren Bjorkman

Release Date: November 13, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Meet Erin. Smart student, great daughter, better friend. Secretly the mastermind behind the popular advice blog Miss Fortune Cookie. Totally unaware that her carefully constructed life is about to get crazy.

It all begins when her ex-best friend sends a letter to her blog—and then acts on her advice. Erin’s efforts to undo the mess will plunge her into adventure, minor felonies, and possibly her very first romance.

What’s a likely fortune for someone no longer completely in control of her fate? Hopefully nothing like: You will become a crispy noodle in the salad of life.

What’s To Like: This has been on my to-read list since I first heard about it over 2 years ago. I think it just sounds like a fantastic premise and I’m really excited to see what happens.  This whole blog thing has me interested.  I haven’t read too many books yet with blogs in them.  It may lead to an interesting format to the story if we actually get to see blog pages.

Leave a Reply

