Madly (Madly, #1)

First Lines: I looked out the classroom window, wishing I was outdoors enjoying the ambient conditions of Slumber, conditions that I’d come to love in a relatively short amount of time.  If I closed my eyes, I could almost feel the humid sea breeze ruffling my hair, the hot sun shining down on my face.

In this crazy year that I’ve been having, it’s been very hard for me to finish books because I just don’t have the time.  I picked this novella off my Kindle because it was really short and I knew it wouldn’t take near as much time as a normal novel.  Admittedly, I forgot what it was about before I started it, so that was a shock.

Madly James is your average 18 year old princess.  Madly’s interning on land until a prison break in her home, Atlas, endangers everything and everyone she holds dear.  The prisoners, known as the Lore who are the spirits of fairy tales, are now on their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants.  Madly is the only one who can stop them.  With the help of her two best friends and Sentinel Jackson Hamilton, Madly will do what she can.  But while Jackson is the best qualified for the job of protecting Madly, he is the last person she wants around her.  Because Madly loves Jackson, but she can never have him…

So, this, being a novella, meant that it was incredibly short.  Less than 100 pages, I believe.  It was really hard to find character development and good plot movement in this.  By the time you’re introduced to most of the characters, you’re 25% or more into the book.  There’s just no room for us to learn their character and then expand on that in the space available.  And the plot movement…that felt more like random info dumps.  Like, “Oh look, suddenly this previously unmentioned plot point is going to be incredibly important!”

The story itself isn’t bad.  Madly is an interesting character and the world being created is pretty different.  I wasn’t expecting it to go the way it did.  It was really hard to get into some of the story, considering it moved so fast and, as I mentioned, there wasn’t a lot of development.  I haven’t decided whether or not I want to read the next novel yet.

One thought on “Madly (Madly, #1)

Leave a Reply

