Masque of the Red Death (Masque of the Red Death, #1)

First Lines: The charcoal sky spits cold rain as we rumble to a stop at a crossroad.  A black card blocks the road, and even in an armored carriage we know better than to force our way past.  Burly men stagger to the cart, carrying something between them.  Someone.

Hey guys!  Ok, so it’s getting to that point in the semester when I finally have a life again!  It’s incredible.  I almost forgot what it felt like.  So, now that I’m almost on winter break, I’m going to start reading more and getting more reviews up!  I read this one back in October, I think, so we’ll see how this review go.

Everything is in ruins and life is completely horrible.  A plague runs rampant, killing everyone it infects.  So why should Araby Worth even try to live?  If it weren’t for her best friend April, Araby would stay confined in her home.  But April gets Araby out to the well-known Debauchery Club, where Araby meets a number of colorful people.  There’s Will, the bouncer at the club who may have more about him than meets the eye and Elliot, the incredibly smart aristocrat with a dark past.  Both of them have secrets.  And those secrets could ruin Araby.  Life may be crumbling around them, but Araby might just have found something worth fighting for.

As a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe (his probably my favorite poet), I was drawn to the story.  I wanted to see how this could be reimagined as a steampunk.  It’s really interesting, actually.  Who would have thought to make this a steampunk?  But I guess it fits well.  Victorian era things (pretty contemporary with the original story) with some modern technologies.

The characters in the story are quite amazing.  Araby is someone I think most people can relate to, even if they’ve never gone through what she has.  You really have no idea what the motives are behind the characters.  The bad guys aren’t easy to spot, and neither are the good guys.  I really appreciated that.

So, I mean, I’m probably not surprising anyone with this, but there’s kind of a love triangle starting here.  And I was not a fan of that.  Why does every YA book have to have a love triangle in it?  Why can’t we have like, a love line or something?  It just seems like a cop-out when there’s a love triangle in a story that’s already as dramatic as this one is.  It’s just a quick, cheap way of creating even more drama.

Overall, the book was really dark and creepy in a good way.  Like, if you’re actually into that stuff like I am.  There were places where I wish there had been more details to explain a scene better, but I think overall it was a good read.  The cliffhanger ended makes me really want the next book soon.

Leave a Reply

