Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

First Lines: I’ve been locked up for 264 days.  I have nothing but a small notebook and a broken pen and the numbers in my head to keep me company.  1 window.  4 walls.  144 square feet of space.  26 letters in the alphabet I haven’t spoken in 264 days of isolation.

Ok, so I came to this party late.  I’ve been hearing about this book for at least a year.  And like, I wanted to read it; it was just never on the shelf at the library.  I didn’t even actually know my library had a copy until I saw it on the shelf.  So on my winter break storming-of-the-library, I picked it up.

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in 264 days.  She’s been locked up because the last time she touched someone, she was charged with murder.  She doesn’t know why her touch kills, no one does.  The Reestablishment threw her in a cell to keep others safe.  But times are changing.  There isn’t enough food out in the world for all the people.  Birds don’t fly anymore.  Things are just…wrong.  There are even whispers of rebellions strong enough to fight back.  Now, the Reestablishment sees Juliette as a possible weapon instead of a prisoner.  It’s up to Juliette to decide whether she will be a weapon…or a fighter.

I found this to be a really fascinating read.  First of all, and this is me being an English-nerd, the writing style was pretty different from what I usually encounter.  As you can see at the top of the book cover, there’s a line through the words “My touch is lethal.”  That was very common throughout the book.  She’d say things like “Gorgeous Dangerous.”  She also didn’t write in complete sentences all the time, which made me feel like Juliette’s voice was showing through very clearly.  So that was really interesting.

Also, I thought the characters were extremely realistic.  Juliette especially, despite her strange power.  She didn’t always know what she was, but she knew who she was.  That may not make a lot of sense until you read it.  I thought her reactions and emotions were pretty spot-on.  I’ve read stories where the main girl will cry for practically no reason, and I was so happy to see that even though Juliette probably had more than enough reason to cry all the time, she didn’t.  She feels like the kind of girl I could envision as my best friend.

The plot was pretty good as well.  Sure, there were a few things I thought could have been expanded on/deleted/whatever.  Mostly though, it was a well-paced story that took you on a journey with Juliette.  There were some very fascinating people she met along the way, the kinds of characters you don’t always see in books.  (One in particular, it would be fun to torture him by having him walk on a bed of Legos.  Just saying.)

So yeah.  A very cool read.  I’m kind of glad at this point that it did take me so long to find out how awesome it is because I have less of a wait for the sequel.

Leave a Reply

