Alice In Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

First Lines: Had anyone told me that my entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, I would have laughed.  From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined?  Please.  But that’s all it took.

Growing up, I was a big fan of Alice in Wonderland.  I’d only read the book once, so I was technically more of a fan of the Disney animated movie.  So when I saw this book, I just knew I had to read it.  It was adding zombies!  However, this wasn’t at all like the original Alice.  (Sorry, no Cheshire Cats.)

In one blinding moment, Alice’s life changed.  Monsters–zombies–killed her family.  One minute, Ali was just a normal 17 year old girl.  The next, an orphan.  Now, it’s up to Ali to fight the zombies in order to enact revenge for her family.  To do it, she’s going to need the help of the roughest boy in town, Cole Holland.  He’s the worst of the worst, but he’s the only one who can help her.  But he’s got secrets too, and if Ali isn’t careful, she’ll end up just like her family…

Based on this description (which I had read prior to reading the book), I knew there were going to be very few similarities to Lewis Carroll’s classic.  However, I suspected with the title and the fact that the series is called the “White Rabbit Chronicles” there would at least be a few similarities.  And I was right.  (Also, isn’t that cover just simply gorgeous?  It’s so intricate!)

The story ended up going in ways I didn’t expect, which was good.  It was gripping and enthralling.  So many secrets…and so much danger.  It made for a fun read that I didn’t want to put down.

The characters were really cool.  Ali and her friends were unique individuals, Kat especially.  I can see where some readers won’t like Kat, but I did.  The dialogue was a lot of fun to read.  Sure, some parts didn’t quite ring true, like some of the slang that was outdated, but it was mostly just a lot of fun.  Ali has a snarky sense of humor and it reads just like her thoughts.  I giggled all the time.

And it was a very cool take on zombies.  I won’t say how, but I will say that they are different than any zombies I’ve read about previously.  And really, I liked this take on them more than I like most zombie stories.

A very fun story.  I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next in the series (which I’m suspecting is only 2 books long, but I could be wrong).

One thought on “Alice In Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

Leave a Reply

