Settling (Solid, #2)

First Lines: Why rush? I reminded myself, purposely slowing my steps toward the ding hall.  Not that I was worried about the food; it was actually a million times better than I’d expected at an Army camp.

A big thanks and my sincerest apologies to the author!  She gave me a copy of this back in like, October, and in the hustle and bustle of last semester, I forgot I had it.  And just so you know, I’m going to try to keep what comes book 1 spoiler free.

It’s been one crazy summer for Clio.  She was one of 100 kids who were experimented on by an Army doctor.  So now, she has a crazy chromosome that gives her a super power.  Cool, right?  Well, it is until you realize others are scared of you and you have no idea what to do with your power.  Now, in June, all Clio wants to do is return to some semblance of normal on this Army campus they set up especially for these kids.  Everyone’s been keeping themselves busy on campus by finding internships with special departments or people.  But it’s soon clear that somebody doesn’t want them to stay when the head scientist and doctor turns up dead.  Who’s behind it?  Why are they killing?  Can they be stopped before someone close to Clio is killed?

Ok, so I really liked the first book.  I did.  And this one was good too, just not quite as good.  I still enjoyed it immensely, though.

The characters, for one, I just think are so cool.  They have their own unique personalities and quirks.  It’s fun to read.  You know who’s going to be sassy and with who.  You know who the peace-maker is.  It’s the way I am with my friends.  I also liked that there were new characters introduced that had even more different personalities and quirks.  They’re all different without being too different.

The plot felt a little like the same from the last one, but it still managed to hold its own.  I really liked that there were personal issues Clio experienced along with the big stuff, like murder.  Clio’s issues are mostly ones we all feel.  There was one point in particular where I think it stepped into train-wreck-meets-soap-opera in its I-can’t-stop-watching-as-this-all-goes-wrong moment (like all the hyphens in that?).  It was kinda fun to read that part, I’m not going to lie.

I’m actually really interested to see where the series goes from here.  I didn’t think I would, but I just can’t help hoping things turn out better for Clio.  I’ve been in a position not quite as extreme as hers and I just want the best outcome for her.  So I’ll probably have to finish this series out…and soon.

Leave a Reply

