Tiger Lily

First Lines: Let me tell you something straight off.  This is a love story, but not like any you’ve heard.  The boy and the girl are far from innocent.  Dear lives are lost.  And good doesn’t win.  In some places, there is something ultimately good about endings.  In Neverland, that is not the case.

When I was growing up, I loved watching Peter Pan.  It was one of those movies where it seemed like anything could be possible (just like in Alice in Wonderland).  I could fight pirates and visit mermaids all in the same day just like Wendy.  So when I saw this book was going to be about the forgotten Tiger Lily, I was all over this.

Tiger Lily is the quiet, reserved daughter of the Sky Eaters’ Shaman.  Even though this position brings her the respect of the tribe, life’s still been tough for her.  She doesn’t talk much, doesn’t have many friends, and most of the tribe actually believes she’s cursed.  But that’s life as usual for her.  However, things change when an English ship crashes near her tribe.  Suddenly, she’s in the sights not only of the Englishman who survived the wreck, but also of the pirates and Peter Pan.  It’s dangerous for her to be acknowledged by any of them, let alone have the feelings she’s beginning to develop for the curiously mature and immature Peter…

What’s really awesome about this book is the narration.  Hands down, this was one of the most interesting narrations I’ve read in months.  Why?  Because it’s the story of Tiger Lily…as told by Tinkerbell.  Yes, you read that right.  Tinkerbell is the narrator, and she’s kind of awesome at it.  So not only do you get Tiger Lily’s side of Peter Pan, but you also get Tinkerbell’s as well.  2 for 1!

While I enjoyed the story, I thought some parts were rather slow.  Tiger Lily came off as almost unlikeable at times and the action nearly always revolved around whatever she was doing…which sometimes, was not much of anything outside of routine.  Which is fine for the story aspect, but it didn’t make for overly exciting reading.

I also don’t know how I feel about Peter.  He was mature in many aspects, but in others, he was about as immature as you can get.  It was such a paradox.  A couple of times, I wouldn’t have minded trying to talk some sense into him in one way or another.  He kind of needed it, and perhaps that’s how a lot of people feel about the original Peter.  I didn’t, but I can sort of see it now.

Overall, I thought it was a really fascinating read that encompassed a large number of original characters that were true to form as well as incorporating many new, lovable characters in Neverland.

One thought on “Tiger Lily

  1. SO glad you enjoyed this! I fell in love with it. I just adored Jodi Lynn Anderson’s writing! I really loved the different perspective of the retelling and that it wasn’t the same old story.
    I do agree that Tiger Lily was hard to get along with at times… I think that’s part of the reason I liked the book even more, in a weird way. Almost made her more of a real person for me.
    Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

