Out of the Easy

First Lines: My mother’s a prostitute.  Not the filthy, streetwalking kind.  She’s actually quite pretty, fairly well spoken, and has lovely clothes.  But she sleeps with men for money or gifts, and according to the dictionary, that makes her a prostitute.

When I not only saw that Ruta Sepetys had a new book, but that it was actually on the shelf in my library, I had to snatch it up.  Since I loved Between Shades of Gray, I figured this was also a sure bet.

It’s 1950, Josie is pretty much your typical New Orleans teenager, except for the fact that her mom’s a prostitute and Josie pretty much grew up in brothels.  But really, Josie’s pretty normal.  She has dreams of getting out of the Big Easy and going to college.  But things take a turn for the worse when Jo finds herself entangled in the dark underbelly of New Orleans.  With danger seemingly around every corner, Jo has to either find her way out…or be stuck in New Orleans forever.

I love historical fictions, especially those that cover obscure time periods and moments.  They’re the most fascinating because they cover normal life.  I mean, I love stories of the Civil War as much as the next fiction lover, but these are just so much more interesting.

And this book…it is fantastic.  The characters were amazingly real while being completely different from most people I know.  It was an interesting look at life in a brothel, and take a look at New Orleans without the paranormal stuff books seem to be gravitating toward now.  Jo was someone I wanted to be friends with.  She’s kind of dark and secretive, but you really understand that when you know what she’s been through.  And the other characters were incredibly dynamic and their own person.  Like Willie, the madam at the brothel.  She was so interesting.

The action was great as well.  It wasn’t over the top in the things that happened and there wasn’t an extreme amount of action either.  There were little, normal moments in Josie’s life, and there were also more abnormal parts of her life that would occasionally crop up.  It was exciting, and I wanted to keep reading every second I had.

Ruta is such an amazing author.  She writes the best stuff.  I enjoy it all.  I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

One thought on “Out of the Easy

Leave a Reply

