The Next Big Thing (14)

Wow, it’s been a really long time since I’ve done one of these!  But it’s about time for one, right?

The Next Big Thing – Mysterious Mythology

I’ve already done one segment on Greek mythology, but now we’ve begun moving away from that and onto mythology relating to other cultures, like the Egyptians and the Norse.  Personally, I think this is because the huge push for Greek mythology lead to an overabundance of Hades/Persephone stories (not that I’m complaining; I love them).  Now, they’ve just switched to different mythologies.

If you’re interested in Norse mythology, you should check out Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson about Ellie, an average girl who goes to spend her summer in Norway only to find out that myths may not be just myths.

For Egyptian mythology, look no further than The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White, the author of Paranormalcy.  It’s the story of Isadora, daughter of Egyptian gods, who just wants to live a normal life, but can’t.  Of course, there’s also the Rick Riordan series beginning with The Red Pyramid.

Interestingly, in my searching, I found a story called Middleworld by Jon and Pamela Voelkel, which incorporates Mayan mythology.  I also found one about Maori (New Zealand) mythology called Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey.  Japanese mythology is also starting to take off, with books like Ink by Amanda Sun.  And I’m not entirely sure, but I think that Wildefire by Karsten Knight is about Polynesian mythology.

And depending on your definition of “mythology”, this could even include stories of Faeries or of English and European mythology.  I would count fairy tales into that, because they are a kind of mythology.  And since there are so many of those, I will refrain from putting those in here.  However, if you’d like to, you can check out American Gods by Neil Gaiman, which I’m sure will be an insightful look at American “mythology”.  I haven’t read it, so I can’t be sure.

If you’re a fan of Greek mythology, don’t fret!  It’s still around, but it takes a bit of a twist as compared to what you may be used to.  There are stories like The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray, which is a dystopia story about couples trying to make it to the safety of the Elysian Fields, but they have to assume the identity of doomed lovers and pass a number of challenges.  (The main girl becomes “Persephone”, so you know there’s some Greek going on here.)  There also seems to be a touch of Greek in The Last Academy by Anne Applegate, in which the academy is called Lethe Academy (the river of forgetfulness, if I’m not mistaken).

Leave a Reply

