A Shade of Blood (A Shade of Vampire, #2)

First Lines: A cold wind howled as it whipped through the giant redwoods surrounding us.  The port was in sight.  The sound of the ocean waves crashing against the island’s ragged cliffs was clearly audible – even to less sensitive human ears.

I received a copy of this from the author so I could read and review it.  (And for the record, it just came out this week.)

This is the sequel to A Shade of Vampire, which I got to read a few months ago and loved.  So I had high hopes going into this.

*Potential Series Spoilers in next paragraph*

When Sofia Claremont was kidnapped and taken to the dark vampire-ruled island of The Shade, she never expected things to turn out the way they did.  She certainly never expected to have feeling for the vampire prince, Derek Novak.  But that’s what seems to have happened.  After months of being kept as a slave on the island, Sofia is finally being allowed to leave, something no human has ever been allowed to do.  A normal life awaits her…but can Sofia really leave behind those months?  Can she forget the horrors she witnessed?  Can she forget the dark prince that she cares about?

So as I said, I really loved A Shade of Vampire.  It was fresh and edgy.  This one kind of lost its spunk, in my opinion.  It was still good, but I just didn’t care for the plot or the characters as much.  It fell victim to the “sequel slump”, where the main characters can’t be together even though you have a strong suspicion they will be together before the end of the book.  And when I find these slumps…I begin to lose interest.  It’s something many young adult books do, and I wish they didn’t.  It really doesn’t keep me interested and in suspense.  I’ve seen it too many times.

About the characters.  I still liked Sofia, but she took on a different edge that I wasn’t very fond of.  She’s still Sofia, but I saw her as weaker in this book than the last one.  It was strange to realize that, considering she’s pretty strong in her own right.  Also, not a fan of Ben.  Not that I ever was, but this really just cemented it.  And Derek…I’m conflicted.  I’ll leave it at that.

Most of the plot for this book is pretty good.  We get to see a few characters from the last book in greater depth (which is cool) and more of The Shade (which is really cool).  However, there were a few plot twists that revealed themselves near the end of the book that just made me sigh.  It’s easy drama.  I didn’t see it as much but a cliche.  It’ll make things interesting, no doubt, but I would have liked it if it had been more…more…oh I don’t know.  More realistic.  There.  I just said I wanted a vampire novel to be more realistic.  Yes, I see the irony.

So overall, it’s a quick and entertaining read that brings back the characters we liked from the last book and introduces a few new ones.  But I didn’t think it was as good as the last one.

Leave a Reply

