Spotlight Friday (72)

It’s Friday!  It’s been a busy Friday (and a cold one!  Brrr!)  But I’ve recently scoped out some new books coming out VERY SOON and they will be included here!  I’m totally excited!  Are you?

The Last Academy by Anne Applegate

Release Date: April 30, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)Curtis Sittenfeld’s PREP meets THE SIXTH SENSE in this spine-tingling, unforgettable debut.

Camden Fisher arrives at boarding school haunted by a falling-out with her best friend back home. But the manicured grounds of Lethe Academy are like nothing Cam has ever known. There are gorgeous, preppy boys wielding tennis rackets, and circles of girls with secrets to spare. Only . . . something is not quite right. One of Cam’s new friends mysteriously disappears, but the teachers don’t seem too concerned. Cam wakes up to strangers in her room, who then melt into the night. She is suddenly plagued by odd memories, and senses there might be something dark and terrible brewing. But what? The answer will leave Cam–and readers–stunned and breathless, in this thrilling debut novel.

What’s To Like: This is pretty typical of something I’d read.  While I’m not totally sold on the prep school aspect (it’s a little overdone), I’m up for creepy stuff.  And I really like that the summary tells me it’s like The Sixth Sense.  That means there are ghosts in this story.  And I love ghost stories.  Also, isn’t that cover kind of striking?  I love the people standing there, almost like they’re guarding the gate.

Fall of Night (Morganville Vampires, #14) by Rachel Caine

Release Date: May 7, 2013

*Series Spoilers are Unavoidable in the Summaries by Book 14 in a Series.  You’ve Been Warned.*

Summary (from Goodreads)Claire never thought she’d leave Morganville, but when she gets accepted into the graduate program at MIT, she can’t pass up the opportunity. Saying good-bye to her friends is bittersweet, especially since things are still raw and unsettled between Claire and her boyfriend, Shane. 

Her new life at MIT is scary and exciting, but Morganville is never really far from Claire’s mind. Enrolled in a special advanced study program with Professor Irene Anderson, a former Morganville native, Claire is able to work on her machine, which is designed to cancel the mental abilities of vampires. 

But when she begins testing her machine on live subjects, things quickly spiral out of control, and Claire starts to wonder whether leaving Morganville was the last mistake she’ll ever make…

What’s To Like: I’m really excited about the change of scenery, though I’m a bit nervous about it as well.  I’m afraid we’re not going to see much of my favorite characters because of this, which is really unfortunate.  But I was getting pretty bored with the story as of late because of the repetitiveness of the story.  Every book was pretty much the same, in the same way that every superhero movie is the same.

My review of Fall of Night

If I Should Die (Revenants, #3) by Amy Plum

Release Date: May 7, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

What’s To Like: *Gasp* *Gasp* *Gasp* IT’S FINALLY HAPPENING!  The next book is coming out!!!!!  I have been hooked on this series since the beginning.  This was one that I would figuratively turn to people on the street and go, “HAVE YOU READ THIS YET?”  (I said *figuratively*, ergo I have never actually done that.  But I felt like it.)  You really have no idea how excited I am about this book.  I want to get my hands on it the moment it comes out.

My review of If I Should Die.

Leave a Reply

