Sophia: Within

First Lines: It was another normal day in Sophia’s life.  She had been sent to the principal’s office twice, but this was no surprise.

I received an ecopy of this book from the author in exchange for a review.

When I was contacted about this book, I was smitten with the plot.  It sounded so interesting!  I wanted to get started on it as soon as I could.

For hundreds of years, there has been a secret mission passed down through the generations.  See, the Greek gods never truly disappeared.  Not all of them anyway.  And Sophia may be one of the strongest of them all, in her little New England town.  The Men of Ages have been wandering the Earth for centuries, keeping their ancient war going.  Sophia may be the only one able to stop them, but with human and inhuman desires, it’s not going to be easy for her to figure out what she wants and what the soul inside of her wants…

I had a lot of issues with this book.  It took me a week and a half to get through, for starters.  That was partly because I was really busy with school and partly because I just didn’t find it very interesting.  It’s very clear that this was the author’s debut because there were a lot of beginner issues with the story.  There weren’t any info-dumps, but all the information was parceled out funny.  Alec, the guy who seems to have all the answers, would answer questions for about 10 pages and then say something along the lines of “That is enough for now.  We will continue this conversation tomorrow.”  And pretty much just like that too, in the manner of talking.  These teenagers apparently did not know how to use contractions, which made their voices ring false in my head.  Sophia would yell down the stairs something like, “I am ready!”  Who says that?  Most of us say, “I’m ready!”  It bothered me.

More than that, the Greek mythology angle wasn’t very good either.  While some of the characters shared names with Greek gods, they certainly weren’t the same Greek gods.  A character named Orpheus was nothing like the Greek Orpheus.  Not even close.  That was frustrating as well because I felt like the synopsis lied to me.  The premise may be based on Greek mythology, but it wasn’t Greek mythology.

Ok, and also, the story played out weirdly.  The climax of the story hit about 80% through the 500 page novel.  The last 20% was falling action, and way too much of it for me.  This was actually where I felt there may have been an info-dump.  The story just kept going longer than it should have.  I really got bored with this section because there really was no more action at this point.  And there were a lot of typos in my copy that any copy editor worth their job should have caught.  Like “lose” was continually and consistently spelled “loose”.  Every time.  And quotation marks were missing all over the place.  You’d know someone was speaking, but there would be no quotes there.  And one last thing, the narration kept changing at random with no warning.  Sophia was the main narrator, but for a paragraph or two it would flip to Alec or Sophia’s brother, Dennis.  It would take me most of the paragraph to figure out what was going on, then by that time, it was over and we were back to Sophia.  That was also frustrating.

I feel bad bashing this as thoroughly as I have.  I mean, it did have a few redeeming qualities.  The plot line with the nymph was really interesting.  But there were just so many issues I had with the book, I couldn’t fully enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

