Girl of Nightmares (Anna, #2)

First Lines: I think I killed a girl who looked like this once.

I got this book back at Christmas, and I finally got around to reading it.  See, I forgot what happened in Anna, so I had to reread the last 50 or so pages of it to remember what happened and become reacquainted with the characters.  That was incredibly helpful, though I probably should have just reread the book.

*Potential Series Spoilers in Next Paragraph*

Cas Lowood hasn’t seen Anna in months, not since she created a door to Hell in her house and disappeared down it to save him and his friends.  Cas walks around as though he’s half dead as he misses her.  His friends continually remind him that Anna did what she did to save him, but it doesn’t help because he loves her and doesn’t to think about the torture she must be going through where she is.  It doesn’t help that he sees Anna everywhere he goes.  He knows that something is wrong when he always sees her in pain.  Cas doesn’t know what’s happening to Anna or exactly where she is, but he’s determined to save her, the same way she saved him.

First off, I want to let everyone know (in case they didn’t already) that this book contains profanity (like F-bombs) and quite a bit of graphic, creepy scenes.  If that’s totally not your thing, this book probably isn’t for you.  I read creepy stuff all the time and there were parts in this I think they only reason I didn’t have nightmares about it last night was because I was reading it while on the phone with my boyfriend.  I didn’t even want to try to picture some things.

The plot itself was pretty good.  I don’t want to say it was amazing, because it wasn’t.  It took me a while to get into the book.  The beginning was a little slow because it’s really just Cas moping.  Certainly there is some action there as well, but it really didn’t get amazing until the 2nd half of the book.

The characters, however, were great as always.  Not only Cas, our lead, but the supporting characters like Thomas and Carmel felt real to me.  I could picture a girl like Carmel doing what she did.  And I felt like I could have met people like Thomas and Carmel in high school.  I understood them.  I liked that because that helped me get invested in the story.

Now, the ending I thought was a little weird.  A bit abrupt, honestly.  But to keep from spoilers, I won’t say much about it.  However, I will say that I had to do research after I finished because it felt like it may have been the end of Cas’s story, but not really at the same time.  Turns out the Anna series is a rare duo story, not a trilogy or a stand-alone.  I really don’t know if I’ve ever read a duo story before.  But it’s a weird lingering feeling I have from it.  I want more, mostly because I’m used to getting more than just 2 books.  But also because there is just so much more that could be done at this point.  I’m a little frustrated, actually.

Overall, it’s a good read, but it doesn’t exactly live up to all the action and creepiness I remember coming from Anna.

Leave a Reply

