Shine (Shade, #3)

First Lines: My phone glowed bright in the dusk-drenched cemetery.  But the words on its screen filled me with a dark, heavy dread.

Hey everyone!  Sorry it’s been so long since I posted.  I was away on vacation and only got computer time when I had homework to do for a summer class.  But I thought that now I would start getting up reviews for what I’ve been reading!

*Warning: Potential Series Spoilers Ahead!  This is the FINAL book in the trilogy!*

It’s been almost a year now since Aura’s boyfriend Logan died.  Now, she’s finally ready to let go of his ghost and let him move on.  But she’s not going to be leaving the mystery surrounding the Shift itself.  As the first person born after the Shift, Aura feels that there must be some tie to her with it.  Her best friend and new boyfriend, Zachary, has been by her every step of the way in discovering the secrets.  But the government has kidnapped Zachary and when they start threatening his life to learn Aura’s secrets, she will stop at nothing to protect those she loves, even if it means betraying her heart…

I ate the first two books up, then I waited about year and a half before I read this one.  That’s not exactly a good thing, you know?  So I admit, I forgot a lot about the previous books and characters.  Also, I was just really anxious to cross another series of my list.

I spent a lot of the book confused about different things (though Smith-Ready did a good job of getting me back on track when I got lost) because it had been so long since I read the other books.  I still remembered really liking Zachary (who wouldn’t, right?) and thinking Aura was sweet with some fire behind her.  And maybe it’s because I spent so much time away from the series, but Zach and Aura weren’t who I remembered them to be and that threw me off.  Or maybe it was that Logan wasn’t really in this story at all that made it all different.

Overall, I still thought it was a good read, but it wasn’t a series I was totally broken up over being over.  There wasn’t any kind of final hoorah that really got me upset, like many series seem to do.  I finished it, it’s over, and I moved on to the next book.

Leave a Reply

