The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)

First Lines: The Iron King stood before me, magnificent in his beauty, silver hair whipping about like an unruly waterfall.  His long black coat billowed behind him, accenting the pale, angular face and translucent skin, the blue-green veins glowing beneath the surface.

I read the first book in this series a while ago, and I was completely smitten.  It was amazing.  I meant to read this very soon after, but time got away from me.  This was another book I wanted to read on vacation, but didn’t.  It wasn’t until around the 4th that I finally did.

Being half human and half Summer faery princess, Megan has never really fit in anywhere.  Now she’s been deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her and is being held captive in the Winter Court.  It seems that war is drawing near between the Summer and Winter courts, but Meghan is the only one who knows that the real threat comes from the Iron Fey.  And no one seems to want to listen to her, seeing as only her and the Winter prince have ever seen them.  To make things worse, Meghan’s fey magic has been cut off.  She can’t trust anyone, can’t rely on anyone’s help.  Trusting a traitor would be foolish…but Meghan may not have a choice.

As I was expecting, this was amazing.  There’s a lot that happens in this story that was surprising.  I love that this kind of pushes the boundaries a little bit.  You really can’t predict a whole lot from this story because the fey tend to be unpredictable.  Surprises are around every corner.  And yes, admittedly, there are some predictable, cliche parts.  I’m just saying that as a disclaimer, because it never really interfered with the story.

I was really excited with this one to see Meghan begin to come into her own, to be a reluctant yet strong heroine.  I think those are always the best heroes.  Meghan does what she does because she is trying to save lives, not because she wants the glory.  And I love that she’s gaining strength as she goes.  I do love a good strong heroine.  It makes things so much more interesting.

Speaking of characters, there are some particularly interesting ones introduced in this one.  I don’t want to give names, but let’s just say that some siblings are involved and a couple of crazies.  It’s the crazies who really make things interesting.

It was a lot of fun to read.  Overall, a great addition to this series.  I’m excited to read the next one!

5 thoughts on “The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)

  1. I loved this book! The only qualm I had about it was the contrived and rushed romance. Other than that, though, it was an extremely fun read 🙂 The books just get better with each new addition to the series.

  2. I’m a giant, huge fangirl of The Iron Fey, so I’m glad that you love this book too. I also love that you feature the first lines of a book in your review. I’ve seen a ton of blogs and not many do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

