The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)

First Lines: This wasn’t the first time I’d been pulled out of bed for a crucial mission.  It was, however, the first time I’d been subjected to such a personal line of questioning.  “Are you a virgin?”

For anyone who knows me very well, they know Richelle Mead is my favorite author.  She’s witty and funny (as you can tell from these first lines) and she can weave an incredible story, series, whatever.  And when I saw this on the library shelf, I pounced.  I didn’t care that I wasn’t supposed to check out any books because of my homework load, I did anyway.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

It’s not easy being Sydney Sage, Alchemist.  So many things are pulling her away from her Alchemist teachings.  Like her vampire friends, who the Alchemists think are like vermin.  Or the magic she’s learned against her will (sort of).  Or the mysterious Marcus Finch, who broke away from the Alchemists and is on the run.  Marcus wants Sydney to break away too, but it’s not as easy as Sydney would hope it would be.  The Alchemists are keeping dangerous secrets, but there’s an ancient magic that runs through Sydney, keeping her with them.  When Sydney learns about a dangerous witch targeting teenage girls, Sydney knows she has to embrace this other side of her or she could be next.

There aren’t enough words for me to describe just how much I love this series.  I mean, I loved Rose and the crew of Vampire Academy, but I’m so much more like Sydney than Rose.  Sometimes Sydney’s indecision makes me just want to give her a push in the direction I want her to go, but for the most part, I really enjoy her character.  She’s incredibly smart and I very much like her wit.  In much the same way that I love Adrian’s humor.  He cracks me up.

There seemed to be a little bit more action in this one than in the previous one.  (Or maybe it’s just been a long time since I read that one.)  But I really enjoyed seeing not only Sydney’s character grow, but Adrian’s and Jill’s.  I’m really looking forward to more out of Jill.

The action was pretty cool, too.  There was always something going as, as evil never seems to sleep.  Well, maybe not “evil” so much as “danger”.  Sydney always seems to find herself in the middle of a mess that originally had nothing to do with her, yet she has to fix.

Anyway, I’m very glad I finally got to read it and now I can join the rest of the fans as we wait in anticipation of the next book.

Leave a Reply

