If I Should Die (Revenants, #3)

First Lines: In the dead of night I sat on a bridge spanning the Seine, watching a bouquet of crushed white lilies float toward the spotlit Eiffel Tower.

I love being able to finish off a series.  Sure, it can sometimes be incredibly painful (as it was for me and the end of the Soul Screamer series), but other times I’m just relieved to know how their story ended.  And when I saw this on the library shelf, I knew I had to grab it.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead!  This is the LAST book in the trilogy!*

I’m just going to take the summary right from Goodreads because it’s in Kate’s voice and I like that.  It’s in italics so you know when it gets to the end, seeing as it’s not written like I usually write them.

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

Ok, so there you have it.  The last book in the Revenants series.  I was pretty excited to get started reading this once I had it in my hands.

And it was pretty good.  I won’t say it was my favorite finale of a series ever, but it was still pretty good.  There were some cool parts that added to the lore of the revenants and other parts that were a bit predictable.  Even so, I still ended up liking those predictable parts because I wanted to see what happened after that point.

What I really liked about this book were the characters.  Not even just Kate, who I completely respect as a heroine because she’s a reluctant leader, only stepping up when she knows she has to.  I really liked the other revenants as well, especially Ambrose.  He cracks me up, and I also just want to give him hugs.  He’s like a huggable teddy bear of a brother.  And I love that.

This book didn’t have as awesome an ending as I was hoping.  Yes, it fairly well wrapped up every loose end I could think of and showed some cool things.  But it was also…abrupt, I guess.  I was hoping for more.

Still, it’s a good, exciting end to a good series.

Leave a Reply

