The Goddess Legacy (Goddess Test, #2.5)

First Lines: In all the years I’d existed, I never expected to be free.

As most of you well know, I’m a huge fan of Greek mythology and the Goddess Test series.  And while I was looking one day for a new book to read, I decided I’d read these 5 novellas before I read the last book in the series.  Funny story, I was telling my boyfriend about how excited I was to get this from the library and he reveals he’d bought it for me for our upcoming anniversary.  At least he’s thoughtful.  But he gave me the go-ahead to read it because he knows I’ll reread his eventually.

As I said, there are 5 novellas here.  They are “The Goddess Queen” (Hera), “The Lovestruck Goddess” (Aphrodite), “Goddess of the Underworld” (Persephone), “God of Thieves” (Hermes), and “God of Darkness” (Hades).

These novellas do actually have a flow to them.  And they all take place before Kate enters the story, making me somewhat wonder why this is supposed to be the 2.5 in the series.  But there are some vague almost-spoilers in it, so I guess that’s the reason why.  You really would have had to read the first book to even know what to look for.  And that’s the only book that would be spoiled.

I certainly had my favorites of the stories.  I loved Hermes’s story and Hades’s was right up there too.  I really liked Persephone’s and Aphrodite’s as well for the fact that it helped me understand a little more where they come from.  (Persephone’s is about her marriage to Hades, so you can really see what happened to them.)  And while Hera’s did the same, I just didn’t enjoy it much.  Thankfully, it was the first story and I could quickly get past it to the better ones.

The great thing about this book is that these series do really give you a sense of just how long they’ve been gods.  It’s strange the way Carter does it, but you can feel that they’ve been together longer than anyone can count.  And the stories all flow together in an order.  It begins with their defeat of the Titans and goes to somewhere around Kate’s childhood.  It covers an unimaginable number of eons.

So overall I really liked these stories.  Each one let you a little more into the minds of the characters and you could really see why there was some animosity where it was.  I’ve read some reviews that accuse this book of being a soap opera and my response is, “Have you read any of the original myths?  They’re soap operas.”  Carter is just sticking to what we know from the original myths and adding her own twist to them.  If it wasn’t a soap opera, I wouldn’t be as interested because it would mean something essential from the myths was missing.

Leave a Reply

