Perception (Clarity, #2)

First Lines: I jumped when my bagel popped up from the toaster.  “A bit on edge this morning, are we?” Mom said, buttering her toast.

When it comes to funny, snarky characters, I would put Clarity in the top 10.  I’d been putting off reading this book for the single problem that I couldn’t find it.  It’s not a well-known series.  I did finally find this short novel and dove in.

*Possible Series Spoilers Ahead*

Clarity “Clare” Fern is psychic, but probably not the way you’re thinking.  If Clare holds an object, she can see its past.  And after everything that happened last summer, Clare’s even more of a local celebrity (read: freak).  Now, someone is trying to win her affections.  The only problem is Clare has no idea who it is.  Secret messages start popping up every time she turns her head.  Could it be the new guy, Gabriel, who makes Clare melt every time he looks at her?  Or Justin, her ex-boyfriend who is trying to win her back?  Clare needs to find out soon, though, because the messages aren’t so friendly anymore and a girl has gone missing…

I struggled with this book.  First of all, I just didn’t have the time to sit down and read a good chunk at one time.  And another thing, all the things I loved from the first book were lacking here.  Clare wasn’t as snarky, Gabriel wasn’t as swoon-worthy, and the mystery wasn’t as mysterious.

Which leads me to my next point.  I knew who the “bad guy” was in the first 30 pages.  It really sucks when that happens.  There was one sentence I found and I was just like, “Yup.  That screams ‘bad guy’ right there.”  So I really only finished the book to see if I was right.  And I was.  I mean, I’m usually good at figuring out who the bad guy is in mysteries, but this was ridiculous.

And Clare spent more time whining about boys than being a strong, sassy female.  It was honestly kind of annoying.  I’m all for girls finding love (and trust me, I’ve been in some truly complicated situations before where more than 1 boy liked me at the same time), but it was just kind of ridiculous.

There are still good moments in the story.  Clare has some really fantastic lines, and there is at least one new character who is really worth getting to know.  But overall, I was disappointed with this installment.

Leave a Reply

