Infatuate (Gilded Wings, #2)

First Lines: I hadn’t expected the end of high school to feel this way.

Is anyone else feeling a bit overwhelmed by how many series books are out now?  Not only that, but once you start one, you have to keep going. And that is a lot of reading.  I feel guilty if a certain amount of time goes by after the books come out and I haven’t read them.  I was kind of guilted into reading this one since I liked the first one.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Haven is still trying to recover from the internship from Hades over the summer.  Luckily her best friend Dante and her new boyfriend Lance had gone through it too and knew what she was feeling.  Then Haven gets an offer to come to New Orleans for the spring as a part of a volunteer/tourism group.  With Lance and Dante at her side, they take off.  But New Orleans is way more dangerous than Chicago ever was.  A group of shape-shifting demons named the Krewe run the streets, affecting Haven and all of her new friends.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, Lucian, the demon Haven had a major crush on, is back and wants her help to get him out of the Underworld.  Can she trust him?  Or will it cost her not only her life, but her wings as well?

It took me a little while to get into this book because I was so busy when I started it.  Only two or three chapters in, I went away for the weekend and was unable to bring it with me.  So that was a setback.  But once I got into it, it really went well.

I liked seeing Haven grow and mature.  She’s facing tougher problems now than she did in Chicago.  And it’s not only because the adversaries are tougher, but because now there’s an ethical dilemma as well, since she knows what she is and feels the responsibilities related to that. And I really love seeing Dante as well.  He’s probably my favorite character.

There was one night I was completely glued to this book.  Like, to the point where I realized once I had to put it down now or face not going to bed until about 1:30.  (Which I couldn’t risk because of the day ahead of me.)  So I stopped reading.  And after that, the momentum was never the same.  I can’t really figure out why.  I think part of it may be that it was just more exciting in the middle of the book than it was at the end.  I felt there was a lot of hype for the ending, but it didn’t really amount to much.  That was seriously disappointing.

I still thought it was a good read.  It’s a thick book, but it goes by quickly with all the action and danger it packs inside.

Leave a Reply

