Spotlight Friday (87)

Hello everyone!  I haven’t forgotten about you!  I just haven’t been reading much since classes started around here, so…no new reviews to post now that I’ve gotten all caught up on those.  But our very special Friday moments are still here.  🙂  Enjoy three new goodies!

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads): Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn’t leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

What’s To Like: I’m trying to expand my books by branching out of the ones I normally read and looking for basically anything that I wouldn’t normally have on my to-read list.  This is one of those.  I really like the title, first of all, but I’m really not sure what this story’s about.  The summary is almost too confusing for me.  Not that it doesn’t sound interesting.  I’m really wondering why the final line says it’s a world not so different from our own.

Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein

Release Date: October 8, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads)A week ago, Dinah’s cousin Claire cut her wrists.

Five days ago, Dinah found Claire’s diary and discovered why.

Three days ago, Dinah stopped crying and came up with a plan.

Two days ago, she ditched her piercings and bleached the black dye from her hair.

Yesterday, knee socks and uniform plaid became a predator’s camouflage.

Today, she’ll find the boy who broke Claire.

By tomorrow, he’ll wish he were dead.

What’s To Like: It’s a little too revenge-y for my tastes, but it’s certainly enticing.  I mean, look at that cover!  I love it.  I just wish the story felt a little less like a revenge story and, I don’t know, more like a novel of understanding.  Is that really sappy of me?  Maybe.  But hey, maybe you like it.

The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray

Release Date: October 22, 2013

Summary (from Goodreads): A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields–a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus–she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne’s heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now “Persephone,” and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they’ll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they’ll die.

What’s To Like: As if this was a surprise, this is actually on my to-read list.  Hello, we’re throwing in vast amounts of Greek mythology.  Of course I’m interested.  I love the idea of passing tests where every person is a person in a tragic love story.  It’s cool and incredibly creepy at the same time.  But I’m concerned about this Teo.  He’s kind of scaring me already, maybe for no good reason.  I’m not sure, but I’m definitely reading this.

Leave a Reply

