Stargazing From Nowhere

First Lines: “No surfing the internet, Kristen,” Ms. Lane said, sounding unusually impatient as she stood over me, peering down at my computer screen.  Despite my irritation, I flushed with embarrassment.  I couldn’t blame her for invading my privacy, as it was her second warning to me this period.

This was a book that I was contacted by the authors to read and review.  I knew as soon as I read the blurb that I had to have it.  I’m not just saying that either; it hit on so many of my book weaknesses and I couldn’t resist.

Kristen Morgan is known online as “Stargazer,” the more-than-just-a-little famous music blogger.  She’s completely anonymous online, but really she’s a 15 year old high school student in a little town in Minnesota.  But her blog, Stargazing From Nowhere, is about to get her in some serious trouble.  She constantly bashes the band Rising Tide, and now they’ve turned up in town to record with her famous producer uncle, Jack Hughes.  Desperate to get close enough to the band to get the latest scoop, she poses as their biggest fan.  She even manages to sneak into a private party and catch the eye of Michael, Rising Tide’s drummer.  And he’s hot.  Even more amazing, he seems interested in spending time with Kristen…which she likes a lot.  But when is the right time to tell Michael that she’s his biggest critic online?  And when is too late?

There’s so much about this book that I loved.  First of all, I have a serious weakness for stories where famous people interact with “normal” people.  It’s like a sweet tooth for me.  I really can’t turn a book like that down when I find it.  That alone had me sold, but the blogger aspect was a huge bonus as well.

Kristen may not be the most likable character at the beginning of the story, but she won me over by the end.  She’s a big city girl stuck in a small town, looking for an escape.  She thinks she’s found that with her blog, and she loves it.  But she quickly gets pulled into a spin of negativity that makes it incredibly easy to bash people she doesn’t know.  And once she does know them…well, it’s pretty hard to keep that up.

There are definitely some lessons to be learned from this story.  For example, I’ve already hit a little on the danger of being anonymous online.  Kristen learns pretty quickly how that can come back to bite you.  But there are other lessons too, like how famous people are still people too.  They want to live normal lives too.

There’s also a huge theme about making mistakes, which is great.  Some mistakes are comical (such as some of Kristen’s attempts to get close to the band that backfire) and some mistakes are way more serious (can’t go into those for fear of spoiling).  But more than just making mistakes, Kristen learns how to pick up the pieces afterward.  And that’s what I loved.

I wasn’t as big a fan of the ending as I had been throughout the rest of the book, which was sad.  I thought it was going to go a different way, and I actually liked that spin better.  Anyway, I can overlook that to some extent, given how much I liked the rest of the book.

Overall, it’s a really cute read that deals with some surprisingly heavy topics.  (P.S., it’s only $1.99 on Amazon for the Kindle version right now.  And I’m in no way asked or paid by the authors to say that.)

Leave a Reply

