Fall of Night (Morganville Vampires, #14)

First Lines: The billboard at the border of Morganville hadn’t changed since Claire had first driven past it on the way into town at the tender age of sixteen.  It seemed a lifetime ago, but here was the same old sign, faded and creaking in the dry desert wind.

When I saw this in the library, I had to grab it.  I mean, when you’re 14 books into a series, you really have to keep going.  And besides, this was probably the first Morganville book I’ve actually been excited to read in a while.

*Definite Series Spoilers Ahead*

It seemed like Claire would never break free of Morganville, but now the opportunity is at her feet.  She’s not going to miss out on going to MIT, her dream school.  It’s hard to say goodbye to her friends, but she knows she can’t miss this opportunity.  At MIT, Claire gets to work with Professor Anderson, a former Morganville native who can help Claire work on her machine to cancel vampire mental abilities.  But when things start spiraling out of control and Claire realizes someone may be out to hurt her, she begins wondering if maybe leaving Morganville was the last mistake she’ll ever make…

What really fascinated me about this particular book more than some of the others was that we were leaving Morganville.  It was kind of cool to see Claire on a college campus outside of Texas.  I mean, hey, I’m on a college campus!  Of course, I’m older than Claire is at this point, but that’s beside the point.  It was really just awesome to get out and away from Morganville.  It’s the same scenery time and time again, and it gets old.  Even if it is Morganville.

I’m drawn back to this series every time by the characters.  I freaking adore Claire.  She’s adorkable and I love it.  It’s so fun to read about her in a pinch and how she quickly makes a plan that may or may not get them out of it.  But still, she’s got a plan.  I also love Shane, who was extra adorable in this book.  I give him brownie points for most of what he did.  Not all, but most.  Eve and Michael play a smaller role in this book, but they were amazing as usual.  I can always count on Eve to bring the sarcasm.

Even though I liked it, there were obviously some things that I didn’t think were executed as well as they could have been.  For example, some parts just felt a little fake.  Or like they didn’t have a good explanation as to why they happened.  I didn’t like that so much, but those parts were few and far between.

Overall, I thought this was a great installment in the Morganville series.  (And, perhaps, the 2nd to last book in the series?  This is what I hear…)

Leave a Reply

