Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

First Lines: I pace in our cell in Erudite headquarters, her words echoing in my mind: My name will be Edith Prior, and there is much I am happy to forget.

With all the hype surrounding this book, I really wanted to wait until some of it had died down before I read it.  But I had a friend who was pretty pushy about getting me to read it, so I didn’t wait too long.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead, but NO SPOILERS from this book!*

Tris’s world was turned upside down when we last saw her.  In fact, all of Chicago was in an upheaval.  Now, Tris needs to discover what exactly Edith Prior is talking about.  What if a single choice can change everything?  What if love and loyalty steer you in a direction you never thought you’d go?

I realize how awful spoilers are, so I will attempt to keep this as spoiler free while simply just giving you my thoughts and reactions to this book.

This much-anticipated novel certainly lives up to its hype.  I think it’s impossible for Veronica Roth to write a bad novel, at least as far as this series is concerned.  We were left with a lot of questions at the end of Insurgent, which meant we were looking for a lot of answers this time.

There was some phenomenal growth from the characters this time around.  Tobias and Tris have to wrestle with themselves and each other as much as every other teenager does.  It’s nice to see that in a world that’s so different from ours.

Some of you may have heard that the ending garnered death threats and other awful things toward Roth.  First of all, I want to say that is uncalled for, no matter what you think of the book.  I understand why people are upset, but that is no excuse to make death threats.  It really aggravates me that people will do things like this.

I will say that the ending was quite emotional.  I found myself crying for multiple reasons as I finished the book, not the least of which being that it was the end of this series.  It’s such a magnificent world, and it’s come to an end already.  I don’t think it could have gone on for any more books, but I am sorry it had to end.

This book lives up to the expectations.  The only reason I have rated it at 4 instead of 5 is because of the hype that surrounded it.  I knew I had to expect something big out of this book, and it caused me to attempt to predict the ending.  I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I wanted to for that reason, but it’s definitely a good read.  Just make sure you have a box of tissues at the ready as you finish it.

Leave a Reply

