Daylighters (Morganville Vampires, #15)

First Lines: Claire stared at the creaking billboard that marked the town limits of Morganville, Texas, and thought, I ought to be crying.  Her best friend, Eve, already was, in helpless, furious sobs.

When I found out this was the final book in the series, I was kind of divided on my feelings.  15 books is huge for a series, and I was ready for it to be over.  But at the same time, I knew I was going to miss those characters.  However, I didn’t hesitate when I saw the book on the library shelf.

*Series Spoilers Ahead!  This is the LAST book in the series!*

Morganville has always been a troubled town, but it’s never seen anything like this before.  When Claire and her friends return to town, everything looks cleaner and the people are happier.  The reason?  Vampires and humans have been separated, though Claire quickly realizes it’s not for the better.  The Daylight Foundation, an organization out to hunt vampires, has given the residents of Morganville something they’ve never had before: hope of a safe future.  But the truth is far more deadly than this.  Claire, Shane, and Eve need to break their friends out of this vampire prison before everyone in Morganville comes to an untimely end.

I really do love these characters.  No matter what happens, Claire is always clever enough to solve the problem, Eve and Shane bring the snark, and Myrnin always brings the crazy.  I really love it.

And this story definitely upped the ante.  When you have the last book in a series, you never really know what’s going to happen, as many recent stories have demonstrated.  I didn’t know what to expect.

When it was all said and done, it was a little more predictable than I wanted it to be.  It was good , but it wasn’t as fantastic as I was hoping.  I never found myself being surprised by what happened.

I also didn’t feel like this book had the flair that the others ones did.  I think part of that is because I knew this was going to be the last book, so I knew loose ends would be tied up.  It felt cute rather than adventurous.  It had creepy moments, but not as many as some of the previous stories have had.

I’m glad this series is over.  It was time for me to let them go.

Leave a Reply

