Antigoddess (Goddess War, #1)

First Lines: The feather were starting to be a nuisance.  There was one in her mouth, tickling the back of her throat.  She chewed it as she walked, grabbing it with her molars and pulling it loose.

As a lover of Greek mythology, this was a must on my to-read list.  And as a fan of Anna Dressed in Blood, this also meant I was very interested in this book.  I found this at the library and knew I had to take it home with me.

Gods aren’t supposed to die.  They’re gods.  But Athena is quickly learning that death could be a very real possibility for her.  Feathers are choking her, erupting in her insides until she fears she’ll die stuffed like a pillow.  When Hermes shows up on her doorstep with a fever eating him alive, she knows she needs help.  Together, they travel the world, looking for answers.  Their search brings them to Cassandra,  a girl who used to be a powerful priestess.  Now, she’s a pretty normal girl who is loved by a god.  Cassandra doesn’t even know gods exist, but she may be the key to their survival.  Hera is part of the opposing side that is killing gods in a futile attempt to prolong their own lives.  They’re grotesque forms of their past glory.  And Athena will need every advantage she can get to beat them.  The Goddess War is about to begin.

I started this just before the holidays got into full swing, but I didn’t finish until after Christmas.  This meant that my reading was highly interrupted.

As a result, I thought the first half of the book was a little slow.  But it wasn’t entirely a product of the holidays.  The narrative flips between Athena and Cassandra.  Each side needs an incredible amount of set-up, and as a result, it takes twice as long to sink into the story.  I really tried to jump right in, but it just didn’t quite happen.  It was a lot better when the narratives merged.

Once Athena and Cassandra met, things definitely picked up and it got pretty exciting.  This is kind of a modern take on The Odyssey and/or The Iliad.  So that was interesting.  (I should probably admit that I never had to read either one from beginning to end.)

When it came to characters, I really liked Cassandra and her friends over Athena.  That was another reason why the narrative felt bogged down to me.  I kept wanting to go back to Cassandra rather than read more about Athena.  She’s not exactly the friendliest person.  I completely understand why she is the way she is, but it didn’t make me like her any more.  She had a way of ruining whatever good feelings I had for her.  I’d start feeling sympathetic and then she’d act in a way that I didn’t agree with.  Bye bye sympathy.

It was a really cool premise for a book and maybe not exactly what I look for when I want a Greek mythology story.  I may not have been wowed in every scene I read, but I did still like the overall story.

Screenshot 2013-12-30 09.07.29

(This tweet from Kendare Blake is LEGIT!  And so true!)

One thought on “Antigoddess (Goddess War, #1)

  1. I’ve read a lot of mixed reviews on this one. I really enjoyed her first novel, Anna Dressed in Blood but I’ve been really hesitant about this one because of the characters. I’m glad to know that you really enjoyed it and that the mythology is really iffy. Hopefully once I pick this one up I enjoy the characters as much (maybe more) as you did. Great review!

Leave a Reply

