Incubus (Daughters of Lilith, #2)

First Lines: The late September sunlight had its own kind of magic.  Spears of mid-morning light broke through a heavy bank of clouds to strike the leaves of an expansive aspen tree, setting each one aglow with an emerald fire.

Jennifer, the author, was kind enough to give me a copy of this book months and months ago.  I ended up forgetting about it until she contacted me again this month about reading it.  So I knew I had to bump this up on my to-read list.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Braedyn Murphy no longer thinks of herself as a normal girl.  In fact, if she hurts any humans using her Lilitu powers, she may never have a normal life.  Braedyn fights her heritage in order to save and protect her family and friends from the Lilitu that roam her city.  But a new threat may have its sights set on Braedyn.  With the final battle looming over Braedyn’s head, she may have to begin making some tough choices, choices that could change her life forever…

I’ll start by saying that with my new responsibilities as a budding teacher, I ran really short on reading time this past week or so.  I couldn’t get enough time to make a dent in the book.  And I really hate dragging a book out for over a week.

Ok, I’ll also fess up and say that I kinda forgot some of what happened in the first book, even with my notes.  So I had to use a lot of Braedyn’s little hints to catch back up.

On to the review!  I remember being really sucked into the new world of the Lilitu in the last book.  It was utterly fascinating.  However, this book seemed to fall away from that a little, probably because the last book was a lot of lore and set-up and this one wasn’t.  There were definitely still things that Braedyn learned along the way, but the didn’t have the same umph.  If that makes sense.  (I’m always just really fascinated by the lore.)

I thought the characters were still pretty good, the ones we really got to see.  A couple of the main characters from the last book have taken much smaller roles in this book.  I was a little disappointed about that.  However, I got to see one of my favorite characters, Murphy (Braedyn’s dad), play a more emotional role this time around.  I think he just became one of my favorite fictional dads.

Most of the story revolves around the new threat in town and what that threat represents to Braedyn and her friends.  That was fine.  (Though I will say that I guessed the ending before it happened, though it was almost entirely accidental how I came to that conclusion.)  I liked that there was a new threat in town that no one really knew how to deal with.  It kept the characters on their toes.

I just felt like there were times in the story where the plot or even some of the characters pulled away from the point of the story.  There was a lot of extra stuff in the story that was supposed to serve as a distraction to Braedyn, but it ended up detracting a bit from the actual plot.  I understand why it was there, but it was almost too much at times.

Overall, though, I thought it was a good addition to the series.  Braedyn is showing growth in her character, as are some other characters.  The story is definitely moving toward a grand finale, though I have no idea how it’s actually going to happen.  Guess we’ll find out soon, when the next book comes out at the end of this month.

2 thoughts on “Incubus (Daughters of Lilith, #2)

  1. Hey, Holly! As a former English major/now language arts teacher, I’m happy to admit that I never grew out of young adult books–especially paranormal romance. 🙂 I haven’t read either this book or its predecessor, but I like the honesty in your review. I’d have to research to see if this author’s been out for a while or if this is her first series because many new authors seem to include extra “stuff” that does not either develop character or serve the plot. Do you find that?

    • What I found was that there was just too much of this extra “stuff”. It all had a clear purpose to the story, but I simply thought there was too much of it and it started pulling away from the main plot.

      Nice to hear from someone else who hasn’t outgrown YA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

