Spotlight Friday (97)

Due to inclement weather, I once again have a snow day.  This means blogging, reading, and a trip to the library.  (You can see that I really liven up my three day weekends.)  I’ve found a few new books recently, so here are three new books coming out soon!

Perfect Lies (Mind Games, #2) by Kiersten White

Release Date: February 18, 2014

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads)Annie and Fia are ready to fight back.

The sisters have been manipulated and controlled by the Keane Foundation for years, trapped in a never ending battle for survival. Now they have found allies who can help them truly escape. After faking her own death, Annie has joined a group that is plotting to destroy the Foundation. And Fia is working with James Keane to bring his father down from the inside.

But Annie’s visions of the future can’t show her who to trust in the present. And though James is Fia’s first love, Fia knows he’s hiding something. The sisters can rely only on each other – but that may not be enough to save them.

What’s To Like: I really just love Kiersten White’s writing style.  She can be funny or serious, action-packed or cute.  They’re all there and it makes for a well-rounded story.  For this particular story, I’m really looking forward to more Fia time.  She’s so strong and spunky.  It’ll be fun to see how she tries to get out of Keane.

My review of Perfect Lies.

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt

Release Date: February 18, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)When Jonah is forced to move from Hamilton to Cross Pointe for the second half of his senior year, “miserable” doesn’t even begin to cover it. He feels like the doggy-bag from his mother’s first marriage and everything else about her new life—with a new husband, new home and a new baby—is an upgrade. The people at Cross Pointe High School are pretentious and privileged—and worst of all is Brighton Waterford, the embodiment of all things superficial and popular. Jonah’s girlfriend, Carly, is his last tie to what feels real… until she breaks up with him. 

For Brighton, every day is a gauntlet of demands and expectations. Since her father died, she’s relied on one coping method: smile big and pretend to be fine. It may have kept her family together, but she has no clue how to handle how she’s really feeling. Today is the anniversary of his death and cracks are beginning to show. The last thing she needs is the new kid telling her how much he dislikes her for no reason she can understand. She’s determined to change his mind, and when they’re stuck together for the night, she finally gets her chance. 

Jonah hates her at 3p.m., but how will he feel at 3 a.m.? 

One night can change how you see the world. One night can change how you see yourself.

What’s To Like: I just found this book yesterday.  What drew me to it was how similar it seems to books like Perfect Chemistry in the opposites-attract kind of way and like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist in how this seems to take just one night.  Really, what I want to know is why they’re both out at 3 AM.  Maybe I’m just getting old, but that is an ungodly hour of the night.

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1) by Sophie Jordan

Release Date: January 28, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads): The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

What’s To Like: I kind of like how this is compared to The Scarlet Letter.  I just watched Easy A recently, so I’m into these modernizations of older stories.  Anyway, I’m really interested in whether or not Davy becomes a killer or whether it is just a prejudice because someone happened to find a gene that supposedly makes her a killer.  I think this book is going to handle some very tough topics, but in a very smart and skilled way.  I’m excited.

My review of Uninvited

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s