Spotlight Friday (98)

Hey everyone!  It’s Friday!  And you should totally wait until you hear what news I’m going to deliver this weekend…!  It’s gonna be big!  But until then, here are three new books coming out soon!

Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg

Release Date: February 25, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)For Macallan and Levi, it was friends at first sight. Everyone says guys and girls can’t be just friends, but these two are. They hang out after school, share tons of inside jokes, their families are super close, and Levi even starts dating one of Macallan’s friends. They are platonic and happy that way.

Eventually they realize they’re best friends — which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t keep getting in each other’s way. Guys won’t ask Macallan out because they think she’s with Levi, and Levi spends too much time joking around with Macallan, and maybe not enough time with his date. They can’t help but wonder . . . are they more than friends or are they better off without making it even more complicated?

What’s To Like: I love this for so many reasons.  First off, I have a soft spot for Elizabeth Eulberg.  I think she’s a great writer.  Secondly, I think that most people have had this kind of relationship in their life.  I know I certainly had a number of guys I was friends with in school that were totally platonic to start with…and then turned into maybe something more.  So I really relate to this, and I’m excited to see how their relationship pans out.

My review of Better Off Friends

Tsarina by J. Nelle Patrick

Release Date: February 27, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)Natalya knows a secret.
A magical Faberge egg glows within the walls of Russia’s Winter Palace.
It holds a power rooted in the land and stolen from the mystics.
A power that promises a life of love for her and Alexei Romanov.
Power, that, in the right hands, can save her way of life.
But it’s not in the right hands.

What’s To Like: I’m a sucker for stuff about the Romanov family.  I really am.  It’s such a fascinating time that they lived and died in.  Throw in a magical Faberge egg and this is going to be kind of awesome.  I initially ran across this book on a list of most anticipated releases this year.  So…I guess we’ll see if it lives up to the hype.

My review of Tsarina

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Release Date: March 4, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

What’s To Like:  Lauren Oliver is a magician with her books.  They suck you in immediately and then leave you wondering how exactly she did it.  I think I’ve read every book she’s published so far because she’s just that good.  (And yet I don’t own any of her books…)  Anyway, I’m very excited to see what this book brings.  Certainly life lessons of some sort.

My review of Panic

Leave a Reply

