Requiem (Delirium, #3)

First Lines: I’ve started dreaming of Portland again.

When it comes to finishing series, I’m always pretty divided about it.  Do I really want to know how it ends?  Is it going to change the way I look at the whole series afterward? (Usually, the answer to both is “yes”.)  When I saw this on the library shelf, I figured it was time for me to end Lena’s story.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Lena is an outcast from normal society and now an official part of the resistance. All because she wanted a choice when it came to her life.  And choice she got.  After rescuing Julian from certain death, they flee to the Wilds, which are no longer safe either.  Every night could easily be their last if they aren’t careful.  With Alex reappearing in Lena’s life, she now faces a choice she never thought she’d have.  How do you pick one love over another?  Maybe society was right to call love a disease.  Love makes people do some really crazy things…

Before I forget, I want to mention that this story is told between Lena and Hana’s POV.  Every chapter rotates, so we get to see Lena’s life in the Wilds and Hana’s life in Portland.

I wasn’t sure at first if I liked this rotating narrative.  Every time I read a book that does that, I always feel like I’m going to hate it.  I rarely do, though.  This worked really well.  I think it helped that Lena and Hana had every different lives that still seemed tied together in some respects.  It was like reading two different stories set in the same world.  And it kept me reading longer because I would finish say, a Lena chapter, and then I’d want another.  So I had to read through Hana to get back to Lena.

What I really like about this series (not just this book) is that it has a lot to say about the society we live in.  I love that.  It’s cleverly woven in there behind what Lena says, behind what the history books and nursery rhymes say, behind the laws.  That could partly just be the English major in me, but I just love it.  I love when I can find a book and pull out quotes that apply to my own life.  It’s smart, and it’s more evidence that YA is more than just kid lit.

I should probably fess up that I picked the wrong “team.”  The guy I liked best wasn’t the guy Lena picked.  Which sucks, but what can you do?  That may have colored my review a little as well.

I was really disappointed by the ending.  It’s very abrupt.  None of the loose ends are officially tied.  You get the impression you know how they’re going to end, but that’s about it.  No epilogue, no real closure.  You have to infer most of your closure.  I’ve seen many reviews where people thought there were pages missing from their books.  And it’s true.  It’s that startling and abrupt.  You’re going along and the *tada*!  That’s it.  Game over.  I really wish there was more to it.  It would have been fine for the end of the first or second book, but not the end of the trilogy.

So overall, I was mostly impressed with the book.  There were moments that I thought could have been better (*cough* the end *cough*), but it was a very enjoyable read and I devoured it.

Leave a Reply

