Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)

First Lines: Where should I begin?  With travesty?  Heartache?  No, I don’t want to begin with where I am now.  I don’t want to end that way either.

This was the last of my library haul that I had to read.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to read it; it was just that some of the other books were more important to me.  I knew I was going to like this when I finally got to it.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Ali Bell has lost more than most people.  Friends, family, a home.  But her loses aren’t over yet.  After a zombie attack one night, strange things begin happening to Ali.  Mirrors come to life when she looks at them.  Whispers that aren’t her own fill her ears.  But worst of all, dangerous impulses tell her to do some dark and terrible things.  She needs her friends and Cole more than ever…but Cole is pulling away, not only from her, but from everyone.  With Kat, her best friend, by her to support her, Ali will face the zombies, uncover Cole’s secrets, and fight off the darkness inside her.  But the clock is ticking.  If she’s too slow, the darkness will take over.  Tick tock.

First of all, I love that this is a bizarre twist on Alice in Wonderland.  I like trying to spot the allusions in the book.  I know I miss a lot of them, but it’s still fun.  Besides, this is great story in its own right.  It doesn’t need AiW to stand.

I was very worried for this book when I saw that it had a sequel slump in it.  (That’s the part in a series where for whatever reason, the main couple just *cannot* be together.  It happens a lot.)  However, it played into the story really well.  It’s easy to see why Cole does what he does, and why Ali does the things she does.  That goes a long way to turning it from a cliche to an essential part of the plot.  It’s a small but distinct difference.

I really like Ali and the other girls in this story.  There isn’t a wimpy, “why me?” character in the bunch.  These girls fight for what they want, and they do it with roundhouse kicks, wit, and a stubborn attitude.  I love that.  It’s so nice to see girls who are willing to stand up for themselves.  And each of these girls also suffers from some kind of lack of self-confidence.  And that’s nice too.  Nobody, no matter how strong, is invulnerable.

I thought the plot for this story was a bit of an adventure.  It never quite went where I thought it would.  When I’d think I had something figured out, I’d be close, but never quite on it.  (As they say, close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades…)  That’s always a little thrilling, especially when the story doesn’t quite end where I think it will.

Overall, it was a pretty good read.  I had points where the action slowed, but it was a good read overall.

2 thoughts on “Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)

Leave a Reply

