Spotlight Friday (102)

Hello, hello!  It’s Friday, once again!  I hope you guys are enjoying this (still cold) start to spring!  Here are a few books that might warm you right up!

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Release Date: April 1, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads): It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path.

What’s To Like: Generally, I just like the premise of this book.  I think that most people can kind of relate to writing letters to someone who will never read them.  I do it when I’m upset, though I’d never dream of giving it to the person.  I guess, really, it’s just about using writing to heal yourself.  Which I really relate to.  I want to see what her letters look like to these people.  I think that’s the coolest twist on this whole thing.  I’d write a letter to Heath Ledger too.

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1) by Danielle Paige

Release Date: April 1, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still the yellow brick road, though—but even that’s crumbling.

What happened?
Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas.
I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.
I’ve been trained to fight.
And I have a mission:
Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart.
Steal the Scarecrow’s brain.
Take the Lion’s courage.
Then and only then—Dorothy must die!

What’s To Like: Ok, I admit that I’m a little leery about this.  In a way, it has the same kind of twist on it that Wicked did.  (Brilliant musical, but I hated the book.)  And really, I do adore the original story a lot.  It’s hard for me to see Dorothy and her entourage put in a negative light.  (Especially the Scarecrow.  He’s my favorite.)  But I really do want to read this too.  I really enjoy alternate fiction, and I have a feeling I may really love this.

My review of Dorothy Must Die

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1) by Rachel Hawkins

Release Date: April 8, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

What’s To Like: To say that I’ve been waiting some time for this would be an understatement.  It’s been on my to-read list since May 2011.  Yeah.  That was pretty much back before it even had a name.  It was by Rachel Hawkins and that was all I needed to know.  I am so looking forward to this being a sassy, yet touching book.  And I’m looking forward to how Hawkins does stepping outside of her Hex Hall comfort zone.

My review of Rebel Belle

Leave a Reply

