Star Cursed (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #2)

First Lines: I feel such a fraud.

This is one book that eventually got moved up to the top of my to-read list.  Why?  Eh, I felt in the mood for a magic book, and the need to catch up on a series I was a little behind in.  That’s always a good thing.

*Potential Spoilers Ahead*

Life in New England under the Brotherhood is far from easy, even though Cate is now part of the Sisterhood.  The Brothers are determined to move mountains in order to get what they want: dead witches.  It doesn’t help that the Sisterhood is impatiently waiting for Cate to come into her prophesied powers.  Cate doesn’t want to be used as a weapon, but her options are running out.  With her friend Sachi in prison for using magic, Cate needs a plan.  She didn’t want to involve Finn, but his offers of help do much to soothe her as her sisters, Maura and Tess, join the Sisterhood for protection.  But Maura is convinced she will be the next oracle, and she’s not afraid to forcefully push Cate out of the way.  Even if it means war for everyone.

Alright.  So I’ll admit right now that I don’t remember a whole lot from the first book.  I mean, I remember the main characters and the whole Brotherhood=evil thing, but not a whole lot of the plot.  So I was relearning that as I went.

We’ll start with the good.  I think the characters are well-written.  I could relate to Cate, even when there was some seriously dangerous stuff going on.  And there are certain characters you want to protect because Cate wants to protect them.  That was a good thing.  (Until like, the last chapter, in which case it was just horrid to feel that.  But more on that soon.)

Another note: I really wasn’t in the right frame of mind when I read this, and I didn’t know it until I was over halfway through it.  I struggled to get into it due to my busy schedule and then I was more focused on my life than what was happening in the book.  But by that point, I couldn’t just give up on the book.  And this seriously colored my feelings for this book.

I really felt that this book was a transitional book.  It didn’t have the same introductory stuff that the first book had, but it also didn’t have the action I was expecting out of the second book in a series.  It was kind of bland, and I think it was because it was just the bridge between the beginning and the last book.  The “climax” takes place roughly 30 pages from the end, and it wasn’t built up much.  There wasn’t a whole lot of suspense or action.  It was the falling action that killed me.

And that falling action kind of killed the book for me.  As I said, I was already in a bad frame of mind, but that day I was in a good mood.  And then the ending came and I fell into a bad mood, one I had been seeing too much of in the days before.  I didn’t want to be in a bad mood, and I didn’t like that the ending would do that to me.  I can respect an ending like that if it had more reasoning to it, but this seemed to come for shock factor rather than being really built into this book.  (It’s gonna be big in the next one, though.)

Overall, I thought it was an ok book, but it could have used more action and excitement rather than trying to pass some of the political insecurities as action.

Leave a Reply

