Letting Go

First Lines: Isabelle had expected the return home from Paris to be a lot like waking up in the middle of a beautiful dream.  But having her luggage stolen mere minutes after landing in Atlanta was worse than a rude awakening.

First of all, I want to say a big thank you to the author for hooking me up with a copy of this novella.

Stranded at the airport, Isabelle’s only hope of getting home is to ride with her boyfriend’s older brother, Harper.  Harper is rude, obnoxious, and crude, and Isabelle can barely stand him.  But Harper may not be the person Isabelle thinks he is.  Because usually bad boys have a reason for acting bad.  What happens when a good girl road trips with a bad boy?

All week, I’ve been trying to catch up on books I’ve been trying to read but haven’t had the time.  This was easily the fastest of the reads, not the least of which reason being because it was the shortest.  I thought it was a cute read, and that definitely helped keep me interested.

I thought Isabelle was completely relatable.  A high school senior, Isabelle has been in a relationship with her boyfriend, Jamie, for 18 months.  She’s happy and comfortable.  But maybe she’s so comfortable she’s getting bored.  And that’s completely relatable, I think.  While I don’t know for sure, I’m just going to assume there comes a point in every long relationship in which one or both parties begins to question whether they still want to be together.  I appreciated that because I think too few books make that a point in their stories.

For the most part, I thought the plot was good and unveiled itself at a good pace.  It really let me into the mind of Isabelle and let me see what has happened in the past too.  I always appreciate that.  However, I thought the plot could have been better if it didn’t feel rushed in the confines of a novella.  The majority of the action takes place over two days, and that just seemed like not long enough.  (Or maybe I just wanted to keep reading it?)  Either way, I thought it would benefit from being longer.

Overall, it was a cute and quick novella that really cuts to some normally unsaid problems about relationships, whether they are romantic or familial.

Leave a Reply

