The Worlds We Make (Fallen World, #3)

First Lines: We’d been on the road for three hours when the stolen SUV lurched over a piece of debris buried in the snow.  Anika gave a squeak of surprise, but she held the steering wheel steady.

Goodness, I need to stay on top of my reviews or I’m going to be seriously backlogged!  After this one, I have two more books I’ve finished I need to write about!  But at least I’ve been reading, right?  Yes.  And it’s been delightful.  Wait until you see what I’ve been reading.

*Potential Spoilers Ahead*

The end goal for Kaelyn and her friends was supposed to be reaching Toronto.  There was supposed to be help there.  But there wasn’t.  Instead, they were tracked by the Wardens, a group intent on stealing the vaccine from Kae, and they aren’t afraid to kill to do it.  Now, the CDC in Atlanta seems to be their best bet for help.  But the odds of them making it intact aren’t good.  The virus is spreading between them, the Wardens are hot on their heels, and hundreds of miles to Atlanta all spell trouble.  Kaelyn may find that she needs to compromise some of her morals in order to get there alive.  Unless that’s not even enough…

When I saw this on the library shelf, I had to grab it.  The theme of that trip seemed to be “Let’s see how many series I can catch up on!”  This was the first of three that I ended up finishing.

I really enjoy this series.  It’s one that I’ve said before is haunting in its accuracy of what the world would really look like if a deadly virus of this nature were to sweep the country.  This book was no different.  It added to that legacy.

However, this book is utterly heartbreaking.  I think I was only two chapters in and I wanted to cry and throw the book at the wall.  I’m not even joking.  While the mood sometimes improved from that point, that was pretty much my consistent mood toward this book.  It was good, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not a happy story.

And really, the series ended a bit more blandly than I thought it would.  I don’t really know what I had in mind for the ending, but it wasn’t really that.  I mean, it fits Kae really well.  It’s all her.  Yet it just felt a little boring.  It was clever and genius, but dry.  I really don’t know how else to describe it.

Overall, I thought it was a good addition to the series.  I always enjoy seeing Kae’s gang and watching how they all interact.  That’s something that Crewe does well: she writes the interactions between characters in a highly believable way.  It’s not just about dialogue but mannerisms as well.

Leave a Reply

