Spotlight Friday (107)

Hello my lovelies!  Friday has come around again, and with it, it has brought SPRING!  Oh my gosh.  The grass is turning green, the trees are flowering, and I see blooms EVERYWHERE!  It’s fantastic.  I love it.  You know what else I love?  New books!  (I am seriously surprised no one ever comments about my absolutely awful and corny segues.  Either y’all aren’t reading or you love them.)

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Release Date: May 6, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait… what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um…

What’s To Like: You have absolutely no idea how much I am flipping out inside because IT’S A NEW MORGAN MATSON NOVEL.  I know everyone goes ga-ga over Sarah Dessen (I love her too), but Morgan Matson just hits my heart harder than any other author I’ve read who writes realistic fiction about life.  I’m so excited!

My review of Since You’ve Been Gone

Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour

Release Date: May 15, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads)A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.

Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

What’s To Like: I’m interested in this because I haven’t read anything by Nina LaCour since Hold Still, which was powerful stuff.  And I’m interested to see how this shows the underbelly/hidden world of filmmaking, something I don’t know a whole lot about.  Really, this book just makes me curious to see what it’s going to do.

Take Me On (Pushing the Limits, #4) by Katie McGarry

Release Date: May 27, 2014

Summary (from Goodreads):

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can’t stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it’s his fault his family is falling apart. He can’t change the past, but maybe he can change Haley’s future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they’ll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

What’s To Like: First off all, I swear that even though I have looked at this cover before, I have never noticed the ghost woman just behind the guy.  WHAT IS THAT??  Seriously, though, what’s not to like about Katie McGarry?  She’s hit a homerun with every book she’s written so far.  And I just know I’m gonna like this.  Why?  Because I’ve already read the first chapter or two of this book in the back of another of her books, Crash Into You.  So yeah, this is going to be interesting.

My review of Take Me On

Leave a Reply

